Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Other Generations > 4th Generation Camaros

Old 03-10-2016, 08:50 PM   #1
mikeusaf

Drives: 1999 Toyota Corolla
4th Gen Base as First Car?

Hey what's up everyone,

In a month I'm going to be turning 17 years old, and this upcoming summer I will be getting a job. With the money I'll make from my job and the money I have saved in the bank, I plan on buying my first car at the end of the summer. I absolutely love Camaros and I was thinking about maybe buying a 4th gen Camaro base model with the money I have saved up. I was hoping that you guys could answer some of my questions. And if you are wondering about my experience as a driver, I have been driving my mom's 2010 Nissan Sentra everywhere for about a year now.

1.) What would insurance be like if I ended up buying one? This is why I would just like to get a base model, because I figured that insurance costs would be lowest for a base. I also have pretty good grades in school, but I don't know if that actually affects the cost of insurance for me or not.

2.) How safe is a 4th gen?

3.) How does it perform as a daily driver? If I were to buy one it would be my only car, and I live in Connecticut so I experience all kinds of weather in my area. I definitely wouldn't drive it out in a snowstorm or anything stupid like that.

4.) What is gas mileage like for 4th gen base model? Like I said, it would be my daily driver and I've been thinking about a base model so it would be as fuel-efficient as possible.