Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Old 04-05-2018, 07:07 PM   #1
TommyKing

Drives: 2010 Camaro V6
Weak Electrical

2010 RS V6

I installed a temporary amp with a couple subs until I can afford everything I need for my new system. The problem is it seems like the car can't handle any extra electric load at all. I've ran 2 of the amps I am using with 2 subs that take twice the power of the current 2 I just put in, with an extra amp powering front and rear components in previous cars no problem.

Just with this one amp that I've had to tune way down the car is freaking out. I used a line out converter for the signal which I've never used before. I was thinking this could be the problem, I'm not sure though. The car's electrical will shut off then turn on instantly. The voltage will shoot up to 15.3 before it never went above 14.4. And when I turn the car off it is completely dead. I can't even take my keys out.

I hooked a battery charger to the battery when I drive around and besides insane light dimming it seems to be producing just enough power to keep it from going all the way off. So, I can listen to it that way. This seems pretty insane though. I've had much higher amperage loads in cars with much smaller alternators without anything more than some slight dimming.

Has anyone else had this problem with their Camaro?