Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2014, 08:02 PM   #1
Evergreen6

 
Evergreen6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1,080
5th TPMS sensor (for spare tire)?

Hi All -- I'm assembling a full size spare tire for my LS using a factory 18" wheel and an OE tire so that I can theoretically rotate all 5 tires, keeping 4 on the car and the spare in the trunk, when it's out of rotation.

I don't have a TPMS sensor for the 5th/spare wheel yet, and before I go spend $30-$60 to get one, can it be programmed to work with the car when that wheel is in the rotation?
Evergreen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:09 AM   #2
Evergreen6

 
Evergreen6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1,080
Bump. Anyone?
Evergreen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:17 AM   #3
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,530
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
it should. I program all my TPMS sensors when I switch to winter tires. Since the tires would be rotated they need to be re-programmed anyway.
__________________
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:22 AM   #4
Evergreen6

 
Evergreen6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LS
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by skuttduck View Post
it should. I program all my TPMS sensors when I switch to winter tires. Since the tires would be rotated they need to be re-programmed anyway.
Thanks for the heads-up.

If you know-- does this require a separate programming tool?
Evergreen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 05:19 PM   #5
huggett
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro 2SS LS3
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evergreen6 View Post
Thanks for the heads-up.

If you know-- does this require a separate programming tool?
From 2013 model year on up....... yes, I believe it does require the tpms tool
huggett is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.