Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Old 09-20-2014, 12:22 PM   #1
Gen52SS

Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS
Side Air Bags Deploy In Autocross

I've been autocrossing now for 7 months at this point I'd like to free up the rear just a little as the car has built in understeer. Looking to get the ass end just a bit loose. i have been warned by some drivers in my SCCA Club if I do I'll set off the side air bags. They have posted of course the famous video of the Gen 5 blowing the side air bags while drifting. I'm going to say many of you have been AXing your cars with NO problems correct?
Gen52SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 01:03 PM   #2
mp51998

Drives: Black 2011 2SS/RS
I've spun out as have a few of the other fifth gens in our local SCCA. Some even off the course completely. None have had air bags deployed. I have seen the videos of it happening but think it's a car by car basis. I just go for it. Keep in mind tho that if you ass end is kicking out to much your scrubbing speed and going slower. Looks cooler tho.
mp51998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:12 AM   #3
CamaroSSNOLA

Drives: 2011 Black Camaro 2SS/RS
This is my first post on the forum btw, but I've been autcrossing 4 times and have been fine. I was told at my last even (a week ago) they recently had a camaro whose side airbags went off. I'd guess its a car to car issue like the poster above me said, but I don't have any knowledge on airbag systems.

I searched the forum and found some people saying this happened to them, but most of the threads were useless arguing about "should gm cover this" or "our cars are performance cars, it shouldn't happen", etc.