Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Old 02-11-2021, 11:27 AM   #1
diddies

Drives: 2013 ZL1
AN Fittings for Coolant Lines

I am adding a reservoir to my supercharger and since I am doing this want to go AN fittings. I have been doing a bit of research on this as I have never used an fittings before. The question I have is what is the best method to get AN fittings attached to your heat exchanger and pump or what you do something different. I see people get an fittings welded onto this heat exchanger but didn’t know if this is the best route. Or how do you get these connected to the pump?
diddies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 12:21 PM   #2
gtstorey

Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2,L99, LSA SC
AN fittings at this pressure level will only be for looks. If you want them anyway, you will likely have to have them welded on the heat exchanger, unless you can find one made otherwise or have it custom built to start with. Then you have to figure out what to do with your pump. I think I have seen reservoirs with AN fittings already installed.

Be careful with AN fittings, since they often have orifices within the fitting that are substantially smaller than their size.
gtstorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 03:35 PM   #3
diddies

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtstorey View Post
AN fittings at this pressure level will only be for looks. If you want them anyway, you will likely have to have them welded on the heat exchanger, unless you can find one made otherwise or have it custom built to start with. Then you have to figure out what to do with your pump. I think I have seen reservoirs with AN fittings already installed.

Be careful with AN fittings, since they often have orifices within the fitting that are substantially smaller than their size.