Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

Old 04-05-2014, 09:09 AM   #1
scuba264

Drives: Manual 2011 CGM LS
Software developer jobs in car industry?

I'm a developer professionally, worked with C, C++. Focus now is mainly on C# asp.net development.

I'm at a spot in my career where I feel like I really know what I'm doing and would love to work in a field where I actually have a lot of interest.

Does anyone do computer work? Just wondering what is even out there in the car world. Trying to get a basic feel for what language/how ECMs are programmed, new touch interfaces. Obviously they all have websites, ordering, tracking... manufacturing stuff could be interesting but I also live in the Pittsburgh area and can't be relocating my family for something like that. Then theres the whole tuning industry.

Maybe a pipe dream, but really feeling I've got a good grip on HOW to do what I do for a living, love to find my spot that I really love.
Old 04-05-2014, 10:28 AM   #2
DGthe3
Moderator.ca

Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
The auto industry can't find enough programmers. On top of the ECU's & web work that you mentioned, there's the infotainment system, autonomous driving, logic for the different driving modes many cars have (wet, eco, sport, track, etc), and in car 'apps' are just beginning to trickle in. I'm sure there are a few programming areas that I'm missing.