Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Jason 98 TA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2019, 06:06 PM   #1
bandier
Got mine!
 
bandier's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT - Yellow w/ Stripes
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Posts: 1,213
stock SiriusXM antenna with aftermarket head unit

Can it be done? Use a stock SiriusXM antenna with aftermarket head unit??? I'm being told I have to buy the aftermarket SiriusXM tuner and antenna. If the new head unit is SiriusXM compatible, why cant I use the stuff that's already in my car? Please educate me.
__________________

Camaro lover since 1984 when I got my first car a 1978 Camaro LT with a 2 barrel carb on 305 V8... yes I put in a 350 with a 4 barrel.
bandier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 07:18 PM   #2
Cheap Guy
 
Cheap Guy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 365
You just have to buy a converter or if you’re super cheap you can modify the existing connector. It should work.
__________________
My Little Mid-Life Crisis Cure!

First - 1997 Camaro 3800 Y87, M5, Green - Long Gone | Second - 1997 LT1 Z28, M6, Silver - Sold | Third - 1999 LS1 Z28, M6, Pewter, Almost Stock! - Sold and Missed
Current - 2011 Camaro SS, M6, black, 1LE suspension parts
Cheap Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 02:54 PM   #3
bandier
Got mine!
 
bandier's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT - Yellow w/ Stripes
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheap Guy View Post
You just have to buy a converter or if you’re super cheap you can modify the existing connector. It should work.
Any idea where to get a converter? So it's just a connector issue? Is the connector modification difficult? Hmm, if I gotta buy something else, I might as well buy the Sirius Tuner and antenna. I was being cheap and hoping to save the $70.
__________________

Camaro lover since 1984 when I got my first car a 1978 Camaro LT with a 2 barrel carb on 305 V8... yes I put in a 350 with a 4 barrel.
bandier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:20 AM   #4
rotwiler
ruff ruff
 
rotwiler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: WA State
Posts: 163
If all you need on a aftermarket Hu is a antenna, then it will work. The Camaro has a fakra plug, even if you have different color fakra, you can remove the plastic cover on the fakra plug and will just plug in like a rca(under cover is simular to mini rca) . I did this on my Ram truck when I put a newer year 8.4 radio in. Antenna is a antenna as long as it's for the service your using. I don't use sat radio now. But a lot of radios now you have to buy a seperate sat radio tuner. Most sat antennas I have seen are fakra, one in Camaro pretty sure is violet, but like I said pop off the plastic cover on the fakra and will plug into Any fakra there is. They just color code them for specific setups, my colors didn't match on my Ram truck but works fine and I get sat traffic alerts and the free stuff with zero issues.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS, XO Verona wheels, BC coilovers oem ZL1 bumper conversion Kenwood ddx9905s, maestro, Kenwood xr1s, xr4s, kappa 1200w,subs, Kenwood xr comps and rear deck speakers, long tubes, hf cats, speed secrets tune, custom exhaust, CAI, blacked out everything.
rotwiler is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.