Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 05-05-2013, 12:59 AM   #1
Jims Mongoose
Jim

Drives: 2013 Black 2SS 1LE
Really Confused after driving SS Hot wheels and ZL1

Okay first let me say that I am a newbie at these new type hot rods. I own a 2013 2LT RS in black with some interior and exterior upgrades. I love it, but after viewing all the cars on this forum, I love them all. Each a different taste but all great rides. My last hot rod was a Ram Air IV GTO and it was real fast, very responsive.

I went to a chevy dealer today in Arizona and we first drove a Hot wheels Camaro upgraded 2SS stick. It felt slow. My son has a BMW 550i 2012 which feels faster, much more responsive. Looking up zero to sixty times they seem to be in the same ball park. 4.2 to 4.8 seconds depending if it the Camaro was a stick or who tested it.

I am considering an upgrade from my 2LT to an SS but it just didn't seem that responsive.

Okay, then we drove the ZL1 in an automatic. From 30Mph or so it felt pretty powerful, but off the line, again, it seemed to lack something making the takeoff soft. Not impressed. We had it in sport mod, that is the traction control was not completely off.

Now please don't anyone get offended I'm sure they are both fast, but does something have to be done to make them more responsive?

I know they are performance threads but has anybody experienced the same thing. Do mustangs have the same problems. (not going mustang).

Jim
Jims Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 01:07 AM   #2
intensifi

Drives: '12 2LT Convertible
I drove an SS with 555 mles on it it an one with 13. The one with 555 was way more fun. I think they need to be broken in before they open up. There is also the issue of what gas was in the tank.
Old 05-05-2013, 01:23 AM   #3