Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Old 02-28-2024, 07:43 PM   #1
Spacenerd87

Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro
2011 LT - No start, #12 30A fuse blowing

No check engine light, no codes.
90k miles
V6 Automatic

I've been fighting this issue for a couple months now. My car will not start and blows the #12 30a (starter) fuse each time the ignition is turned to start position, but not the on or acc position.

Checked battery, replaced starter, replaced 30A, checked the wiring harness in the trunk and engine bay, checked grounds in trunk and engine bay. Replaced ignition switch, tested alternator. All other functions of the vehicle work normally.

Not sure where else to look. It appears to be a short to ground somewhere, but everything I've checked looks fine. I have not done any actual voltage testing, just physical checking for loose grounds.

I had this same problem 3 months prior, at first I was able to just pop a new fuse in and it would start, then that stopped working and I had to replace the starter relay. That worked for a day and then the next it didn't. I replaced the starter and it didn't work at first until I got under and reseated the starter connections. After that I was fine for 3 months.

I put a full tank of gas one morning and the #12 fuse blew again which led to me getting it towed home and I've had it on air ever since. For the hell of it I swapped the newish starter for another new one since it was in warranty.

Any ideas? Thank you.
Attached Images

Last edited by Spacenerd87; 02-29-2024 at 11:37 AM.
Spacenerd87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2024, 03:29 PM   #2
Mouse330

Drives: 2011 2SS, 2006 GMC Sierra