Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2017, 08:12 PM   #43
ZMEnow

 
Drives: ZL1, 2013, tri-coat-red, manual
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABADZL1 View Post
No. Go to Autozone or equivalent and get a can of Mass Airflow cleaner. Clean that thing and report back with findings.
I thought he said he already replaced it. The good news is since it just stared doing this he should be able to track it down.
ZMEnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 09:56 PM   #44
Zena
 
Zena's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABADZL1 View Post
No. Go to Autozone or equivalent and get a can of Mass Airflow cleaner. Clean that thing and report back with findings.
I have already replaced the MAF. Are you suggesting that I take MAF sensor cleaner to the air filter???????
Zena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 10:18 PM   #45
ZMEnow

 
Drives: ZL1, 2013, tri-coat-red, manual
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zena View Post
I have already replaced the MAF. Are you suggesting that I take MAF sensor cleaner to the air filter???????
No don't do that..
ZMEnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 03:49 AM   #46
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zena View Post
I have already replaced the MAF. Are you suggesting that I take MAF sensor cleaner to the air filter???????
No. Nevermind.
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 08:00 AM   #47
DrkPhx

 
DrkPhx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 / 2006 TB SS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 2,084
What are the two wires and relay (see red arrow in pic) used for that are bolted to the inside of the Roto Fab? Maybe follow the wires to see what circuit they are connected to. I've never seen that. I would also check to see if the throttle body has been ported. It looks to be a stock size, so you would need to remove the cold air tract to view it. A properly ported TB and CAI shouldn't cause REP but if the ambient temp is low enough; it might. I would also check the ground that is right in the air filter area and make sure it has a solid connection. Finally, try to get a hold of the previous owner to see if they can offer some insight on the mods.
Attached Images
 
DrkPhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 08:14 AM   #48
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
Looks like an Oracle light kit relay. Noticed that too.

Does your code reader have freeze frame data capability?
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:33 PM   #49
Zena
 
Zena's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrkPhx View Post
What are the two wires and relay (see red arrow in pic) used for that are bolted to the inside of the Roto Fab? Maybe follow the wires to see what circuit they are connected to. I've never seen that. I would also check to see if the throttle body has been ported. It looks to be a stock size, so you would need to remove the cold air tract to view it. A properly ported TB and CAI shouldn't cause REP but if the ambient temp is low enough; it might. I would also check the ground that is right in the air filter area and make sure it has a solid connection. Finally, try to get a hold of the previous owner to see if they can offer some insight on the mods.
TB has not been ported, as I confirmed that yesterday. Always wondered what that was to, as it looks like their are cop lights installed in the grill of this car, which is another story.

Could you elaborate more on "check the ground that is right in the air filter area"
Zena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:35 PM   #50
Zena
 
Zena's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABADZL1 View Post
Looks like an Oracle light kit relay. Noticed that too.

Does your code reader have freeze frame data capability?
It doesn't unfortunately.
Zena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 02:36 PM   #51
ZMEnow

 
Drives: ZL1, 2013, tri-coat-red, manual
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zena View Post
TB has not been ported, as I confirmed that yesterday. Always wondered what that was to, as it looks like their are cop lights installed in the grill of this car, which is another story.

Could you elaborate more on "check the ground that is right in the air filter area"
IN order to install a CAI box some move the main battery ground cable and it can sometimes cause erratic issues which I dont believe is an issue for you as your codes are clear that its related to TB, MAF and SC sensor, and since your car was running ok and all of the sudden started this issue I would say stay focused in that area.
ZMEnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 09:36 PM   #52
d454brisson
 
Drives: jeep
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: md
Posts: 183
I would think the stabilitrak error points it to a ground issue. I would check retighten both sides the one on the passenger head, the one by the air box and anything near the steering.
d454brisson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 12:12 AM   #53
Zena
 
Zena's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
Well thanks everyone for the input. It seems that after the process of elimination, things all point to the air filter being dirty and non-usable. I came to this conclusion by taking it out and tapping it against a corner of the garage and reinstalled. Before I fired it up, took off the MAF and cleaned it also, looked to have some light debris on it. Put everything back together and took it for a spin. I ran her up to 5th gear on multiple pulls and everything seemed ok, until the return of the dreaded CEL followed by the Service Stabilitrak message with rough idle. Parked, took the MAF out for inspection and low and behold, the debris had returned. SO that immediately lets me know that the reason the MAF is throwing codes everywhere is because it's receiving dirty air from the filter. Just placed an order for a RotoFab oiled air filter. Will update once installed and tested.
Zena is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.