Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Old 05-30-2010, 09:08 PM   #1
James4086

Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Hood options

Ok, so I know about the SLP heat extractor hood, and there was a vendor at C5F with a cool modular designed hood that could be "ram air" or heat extractor, or clear or carbon fiber in the center.

that's cool and all but....

I was wondering if anyone had seen a difference in engine temp afterwards, and have some actual proof that it works.

I'm new to all this, so I'm not by any means an expert. However, these are some points I'd like proven:

First does any air pass through the "functional" hood scoop on the ram air hood scoops. I saw a special on the old GTO, and they said when they added the hood scoop to the car, it was utterly useless because the air hit the front bumper and went over the hood, so there was no rammed air.

A friend of mine has the old stingray, beautiful car, and he said that the "ram air" hood that they added to the stingray in later years caused a loss of power. This is because the origional cowl hood would let the air that hit the windshield fall into the engine bay, and the ram air setup blocked it.

This makes me wonder what would happen if we cut-out the little rubber gasket at the back of the hood. I think you'd have problems with rain water getting into places where it shouldn't be, but IDK, that's why I'm asking.

Of course the people who sell the hood will say it that air does pass through, but I wanna see a wind tunnel (with the full car in it) or some kind of conclusive proof that the air is pushed into the hood.

Next, the stock hood is aluminum; so IF the ram air and heat extractors don't force the air through the engine bay, wouldn't an aluminum hood be a better heat-sinker than a fiber-glass hood with a small hole?