Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2015, 03:19 PM   #43
vroomapunk
[COTW 5/12/14]
 
vroomapunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CRT NF Cammed 2SS/RS For Sale
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOLA
Posts: 6,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSNYSTR View Post
I'm thinking that you accidentally touched the paddle shifter. I you put it in sport mode and do not touch the shifters, it still shifts automatically for you, but as soon as you touch a paddle, it goes to manual and you have to shift for yourself. That's what it seems like.
This has also happened to me haha
__________________
vroomapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 03:51 PM   #44
SSNYSTR
 
SSNYSTR's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chackbay, La
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroomapunk View Post
This has also happened to me haha
Me too lol. I look down or hear my RPM's getting higher and I'm like oh shit and shift or put it back to drive.
SSNYSTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 05:28 PM   #45
squat

 
Drives: 2011 Dodge Charger
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm Peterson View Post
Sounds like the PCM basically threw the transmission into neutral or something inside the transmission failed. It is entirely possible for an AT to either work just fine in full automatic mode but not in manual mode, or vice versa, if slightly different combinations of bands and clutches is used.

Is there any chance at all that you didn't get it solidly into 'M', or that the shifter was able to move out of 'M' somehow?

Either way, it needs to be looked at.


Norm
Took way too long to get a good answer. I agree with Norm.
__________________
2011 Dodge Charger
squat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 06:11 PM   #46
FASTDIESEL
 
FASTDIESEL's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99 SLP Cosmetics
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 380
Check fluid. My buddy's began to slip (and rev) as it was a little low on fluid. Now he has it OVERFILLED by a quart (running low 11's with drag radials).
__________________
13.244 @ 104.91 100% stock (#17).
Now - Mike Norris catch can. 245/50/19 Firestone Wingfoot A/S on LT2 black powder coated rims (square). 1 7/8" Speed-Engineering LTH, off road pipes, tune.
Now 12.93 @ 109.13.
FASTDIESEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 08:27 PM   #47
Norm Peterson
corner barstool sitter
 
Norm Peterson's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Mustang GT, 19 WRX
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Eastern Time Zone
Posts: 6,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroomapunk View Post
Yes! I have a stall too and its done this
You guys with high stall speed converters may be running into an engine rpm vs road speed condition that's outside what the PCM expects for 1st or possibly 2nd gear (engine revs are too high), and the PCM is getting confused that way. There might be a Pxxxx code for it.


Norm
__________________
'08 GT coupe 5M (the occasional track toy)
'19 WRX 6M (the family sedan . . . seriously)
Norm Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 10:00 PM   #48
MBS


 
MBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 rs 2lt
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,497
My guess is driver error on that run , especially after the next 5 were flawless
MBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 11:20 AM   #49
Badfinger
 
Badfinger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrando View Post
This is described in the owner's manual but it specifies the V6.


P.S. 4th redlines at 140 MPH
Yeah right, my tires may have been going 140 the car was going about 30
__________________
K&N Typhoon CAI - GPI VVT-SS2 Cam - BTR .660 Springs - Kooks 1 7/8" LT Headers/HF Cats - Stainless Works Retro Exhaust System - Circle D 3200 - Derale Trans Cooler - Ryan/GPI Tune
Badfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 07:19 PM   #50
Synyster

 
Synyster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 F150 Lariat
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,665
This happened to me a couple of months ago. I was on my way home, decided to accelerate hard and the car didn't move. It just went up to about 5500 rpm before I noticed, as though I was in neutral. I put it into neutral and right back into S and it has been fine since... I'm due for a tranny fluid change, though I wouldn't think that would cause that?
Synyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 01:37 PM   #51
bayarea408

 
bayarea408's Avatar
 
Drives: T
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: CA
Posts: 795
I wish these cars were still drive by throttle cable and not by wire.

I switch off driving my 4th gen LS1 and my 5th gen SS, and there is just a different throttle response feel with the cable that i miss in my 5th gen.

CPU confusion and drive by wire sending messages to the CPU delayed response sucks.
bayarea408 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.