Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 09-06-2020, 06:15 PM   #1
Shadow72

Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
LFX V6 Camaro Engine Replacement Guide

Me and my brother had our engine go out on our car at 82,000 miles. We decided to swap in a new engine. We bought a re manufactured engine from FraserEngines and swapped it in and got it running. Working on the LFX engine is quite tricky. Not because it is a difficult engine to work on, but because there are very few resources on the LFX engine. Hopefully this guide will help some of you when you are working on your Camaro.

Please note that this isn't a step by step guide on how to replace an engine. This just covers some of the more difficult things you will run into when doing it.

DISCLAIMER:
I am not a mechanic, some of what I say in this thread may not be the best way to do things. Please do your research before blindly trusting what one guy on a forum says. I will try and keep a eye on the comments and update the post with the best information possible.

Resources for the LFX engine:
As i said above there aren't too many resources on the LFX engine. I would recommend purchasing a copy of the Camaro repair manual and the Haynes repair manual. The Camaro repair manual has a bunch of good information about working on the engine but can be confusing or over simplified sometimes. The Haynes repair manual doesn't have as much info as the Camaro one but has lots of helpful pictures as well as step by step instructions for some things. If you are planning to do a engine replacement like we did these are must haves.

Accessories:
AC Pump Removal:
This is a pretty easy uninstall but can be confusing. The AC pump has a rod that goes through it