Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 08-25-2009, 07:12 PM   #1
CamaroDreams07

Drives: Slow V6
Cam Question

Ok guys heres a question. Any of you who know me know that I am just beginning to learn the first thing about car mods, so bare with me as this question might be beyond stupid.

So I've seen a few V8 guys upgrading the cams on their cars. From what I've been able to gather on my own, cams are responsible for opening and closing the exhaust ports on the cylinders. So basically 2 questions, how does this help you, and why has nobody mentioned it for the V6. Is this something you just can't/don't do to a V6 or does it have to to with the DI on the Camaro?
CamaroDreams07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:16 PM   #2
BigBOSS

Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS, 6M, IBM
It is because an upgraded cam is a performance part. And those who buy the Camaro for the performance more than likely bought the V8. Thus, the companies making performance parts build V8 performance parts because of the bigger market.

Give it time and they will develop everything the V8 has, for the V6.
BigBOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:20 PM   #3
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!

Drives: 12 Second Brick
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroDreams07 View Post
Ok guys heres a question. Any of you who know me know that I am just beginning to learn the first thing about car mods, so bare with me as this question might be beyond stupid.