Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2013, 12:59 AM   #1
Crazycoot
 
Drives: '13 ZL1 M6
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 248
Elm-327, iPad mini, and permanent mounting

Thinking of installing the elm 327 wifi obdII reader in my car and then mounting an iPad mini on the windshield with this ram mount: http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx

This would allow for a pretty cool real time display of all the engine stats and also allow me to quickly clear any codes caused by my midpipes. What do you guys think of this setup?
Crazycoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:55 PM   #2
rray
 
rray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GAZ 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 419
Did you try placing it on the dash to see how good it does as a HUD? Try Torque in HUD mode and check it out. I did with an Android tablet and it looks pretty cool at night.

There are also mounts out there that hook into the front heater vents to hold tablets.
__________________
If you see it, get it, for tomorrow it may be gone!
rray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:33 AM   #3
Crazycoot
 
Drives: '13 ZL1 M6
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by rray View Post
Did you try placing it on the dash to see how good it does as a HUD? Try Torque in HUD mode and check it out. I did with an Android tablet and it looks pretty cool at night.

There are also mounts out there that hook into the front heater vents to hold tablets.
Is the entire windshield coated to reflect data or is only the area around the OEM HUD coated? I actually wanted something where the passenger could read the data as well in cases such as track days or simply to impress passengers. If I placed the ipad mini where the current HUD is, the passenger could not see the data. Also, I have an iPad mini and Torque doesn't work with apple products. Thats why I was looking at the "engine link" app.
Crazycoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 04:16 PM   #4
hiddenangels89
 
hiddenangels89's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS Camaro L99
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: California
Posts: 187
Mine is android, but the mount works all the same.

I wouldn't recommend it in the window because of how much space it takes up... personally.

Name:  CamaroInterior-AndroidTablet.jpg
Views: 1176
Size:  102.4 KB
hiddenangels89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 12:09 PM   #5
KI4NPZ
 
KI4NPZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LS Silver Ice Metallic
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 24
I temporarily mounted my iPad above the radio, thinking it would be nice to have easy access to my music library while being easier to see and interact with than the phone. Personally I found it a little too big, and I’m thinking the iPad Mini might work better. A little spendy considering it’s potential single purpose—but I think it would fit nicely in our no-so-big interiors.

And also the phone is too small to use effectively to monitor parameters with Torque/DashCommand as well so I think the mini would be better for that as well
__________________
KI4NPZ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.