Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Jason 98 TA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2018, 08:45 PM   #15
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by revo1059 View Post
At $500 I’m tempted to just go with the DSX auxiliary system if my BAP is dead.
Check your fuel pressure at WOT and make sure it is not dropping. If you have enough fuel pressure then your tune is way out of whack. You are dangerously lean and risking melting a hole in a piston. And notice how much your torque drops at the same point the engine goes lean. It has the potential to make a lot more power.
And the DSX aux pump is more like $1000 not $500.
__________________
Bryan 695 SAE RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:47 PM   #16
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1blue View Post
Can You tell me what you think of my dyno? I just did the pulley upgrade injectors and headers. Not sure how to read the air/fuel ratio. Thanks
Your graph and AFR looks really good.
__________________
Bryan 695 SAE RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 08:10 AM   #17
revo1059
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 414
Yeah, should have clarified, the aux pump is only ~$500 more than the BAP.

Whats a good range for pressure at WOT?

FYI, the cam I have is the specs you gave me a few years ago.
revo1059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 08:12 AM   #18
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by revo1059 View Post
Yeah, should have clarified, the aux pump is only ~$500 more than the BAP.

Whats a good range for pressure at WOT?
You should make 65psi
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 11:08 PM   #19
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,814
Yes 65 psi at WOT
This is what my dyno looks like with same cam and 10" pulley. Yours should be similar.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Bryan 695 SAE RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 07:51 AM   #20
DrkPhx

 
DrkPhx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 / 2006 TB SS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 2,110
^^^ Those are great numbers especially SAE on a Dynojet.
DrkPhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 05:33 PM   #21
revo1059
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 414
So I looked at the BAP (MSD 2351) and it’s flashing a code 31, over volt - on output. Any ideas on how to deal with that? Can’t find anything on MSDs site about it other than the code and what it is.
revo1059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 08:50 PM   #22
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,814
I still think there is something wrong with your tune. Even if fuel pressure drops the PCM knows it and increases the pulsewidth to compensate. Unless your pressure is REALLY. REALLY LOW.

A properly calibrated MAF table is key. If commanded AFR is in the "11's" but the car is that lean then the MAF table is wrong!
__________________
Bryan 695 SAE RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 08:27 AM   #23
revo1059
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 414
I used Track Addict and my BT OBDII adapter. When I mashed the throttle pressure went from 49 to 59 lbs. I had a passenger who was watching the readout and dummy me didn't record the session .

It's supposed to be 70 on Thursday here (it's snowing right now...yea) so I'll try and get another reading and actually record it.
revo1059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 09:01 PM   #24
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by revo1059 View Post
I used Track Addict and my BT OBDII adapter. When I mashed the throttle pressure went from 49 to 59 lbs. I had a passenger who was watching the readout and dummy me didn't record the session .

It's supposed to be 70 on Thursday here (it's snowing right now...yea) so I'll try and get another reading and actually record it.

And it's not when you first mash it that you have to worry about. It will come up as expected at first but it may be dropping as you get up in the higher RPMs.
__________________
Bryan 695 SAE RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 09:09 PM   #25
revo1059
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 414
I found the issue! It's not a code 31, it's a code 13 the BAP is displaying. According to MSD that means the BAP isn't seeing the fuel pump, so something is most likely mis-wired. Does anyone have a ZL1 specific diagram or info on where to grab the positive wire coming off the fuel pump before the FPCM?
revo1059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 09:21 PM   #26
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,367
I have the ADM FPCM and an MSD BAP on mine. No issues:

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...postcount=1166
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...postcount=1169
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...postcount=1170
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...postcount=1171

I used the software for the MSD to set it up, no retune...

ADM LSA SC kit installed etc...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 09:40 PM   #27
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,618
I've never heard of a bap being wired directly to the pump wiring. (If this is what you are thinking) Mine (jms) connects to the fpcm wiring rite off the fuse block. Do you have an install guide for it?
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 10:35 PM   #28
revo1059
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABADZL1 View Post
I've never heard of a bap being wired directly to the pump wiring. (If this is what you are thinking) Mine (jms) connects to the fpcm wiring rite off the fuse block. Do you have an install guide for it?
I don’t. The info I got was from an MSD tech I spoke with today in regards to the error 13 code the BAP is flashing. He specifically stated that it can’t run into the FPCM as it could try to reduce voltage if it sensed the BAP boosting it. I did let him know what I was using it on, so I’m ....assuming.....he looked it up.
revo1059 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.