Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Jason 98 TA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2010, 04:06 PM   #1
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
Is the ipod the only device that does the indexing for you?

But let's you control what's played from the receiver?

I have never owned an ipod, I just put mp3s on a stick and use them. But annoyances with indexing lack of persistent shuffle, and space limitations have made me curious.

What other mp3 players can be plugged in with the same functionality as the ipod (car control, but no indexing)? zune? off-brands? etc? I want something cheap more than anything else.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
terry_b

 
terry_b's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via MSN to terry_b
Well I can tell you from experience that with the zune, the car indexes every time you start it.
terry_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 08:46 AM   #3
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '19 Corvette Stingray
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 18,729
I have a Zune as well....and YES, a Zune will index each time and you can use the controls.
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 03:16 PM   #4
Sponge60
OBX
 
Sponge60's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS / RS, Black on Black, L99
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 82
I've had no issue with a 4 gig USB stick. Indexes on start up, and the GM default is to play in order when using the stick. Simply select shuffle from the menu. But if you are making 10 stops a day, then I'm sure manually selecting shuffle may get annoying.
__________________
Glenn Rainey
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Sponge60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:20 PM   #5
Tonka
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Gray 2SS Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 140
well i used to use an 8gb stick, and hated it. everytimes i started the car up it would index for at least 5 mins, it would still start up on the song i left off at but once that was over would start up at the very beginning again. now i just started using and older ipod to see if it works better, no more indexing song song stays on whatever i have left it at and does not start at the beginning once that one is over. i keep it on shuffle at all times and it remembers this selection unlike the stick where i had to put it on random everytime after it stopped indexing. so i would definettely recommend using an ipod over anything else
__________________
2010 CGM 2SS M6 w/ FM AT Cat back
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:57 AM   #6
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
yeah but ipods are too expensive lol, it's kind of ridiculous honestly.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 01:17 AM   #7
bigsquirrel
My car runs on acorns....
 
bigsquirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS Inferno Orange
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 1,357
There are a few things you can try, depending on your device there are different types of sw to make your phone/device act like an ipod in how it handles music. I'm not sure what triggers the indexing feature, but it's probably related to how the music is stored/organized , determined by software not hardware. I've wanted to play around with a few different droid apps but haven't had the time.
bigsquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:39 AM   #8
wombatsauce
 
Drives: 2010 2SS M6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 15
Hmm.. I have an iPod somewhere - have to try this. I use a 4GB USB stick and it works great except that whenever I start the car, it plays songs in alpha order (I think) rather than the order that was dictated by the selected folder before the car was shut down. It's seriously annoying. Sometimes you just don't want Morphine after Little Dragon. Anyway.. But mine only indexes when I connect the USB - not at every start... I think... Have to check.
wombatsauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:40 AM   #9
bobby35ny


 
bobby35ny's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 ZL1 M6, bye 2013 ZL1, 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South East, FL
Posts: 2,631
I have an old NANO and works and indexes great.
-bobby
__________________
ZL1::J-E-T-S JETS JETS JETS
bobby35ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:43 AM   #10
SuperFly03
 
Drives: 2010 Kona Blue GT500
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Nuke View Post
I have a Zune as well....and YES, a Zune will index each time and you can use the controls.
yeah it is a bunch of horse shit.

It shouldn't have to re-index... hell it shouldn't index at all.

iPod's plug in and are immediately accessible. Zune/iPod both work this way on M$ Sync systems so there is no reason GM can't do it... but I digress.

My zune always indexed everytime I started the car and it takes 15 min or so... which made it utterly useless. I bought a used ipod just so I could actually use the USB port I paid for.
__________________
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT [TEXAS]

You've been Thread Jacked by SF03!
Current Car: 2010 Kona Blue Shelby GT500 M6
Previous Car:
2010 Black Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Two Back: 2007 Black Shelby GT500 M6
SuperFly03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:20 PM   #11
FINALLYSATISFIED
Est.1775
 
FINALLYSATISFIED's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Challenger Hellcat (sold)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,517
My 5thGen Nano indexes just about everytime on startup and I have a 2011 2SS/RS...
FINALLYSATISFIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:47 PM   #12
liquidsmoke
Two Miles An Hour
 
Drives: SIM 2LT RS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,209
The reason the nano's index is cuz the car sees it just like a thumb drive. This is the same reason when u plug one into your computer it shows up as a regular drive u can copy file to by drag&drop. The iPod touch/iPhone don't show up as USB drives and the only way to access data is through the API. Iaasume that zune's also show up as drives and thus have to index. This is just the way GM chose to access those devices. If it must index it should at least be smart about it and save a cache of the index results so it docent have to do it every time, only when there is new data.
liquidsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:22 PM   #13
popeye705
 
Drives: 2010 IOM Camaro 2LT RS/ 03 Protege
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 49
It has to do that apple uses a form of flash to index itself within the device
popeye705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:24 PM   #14
aet08
 
Drives: c
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: c
Posts: 628
it has problems with my iphone, ipod works great
aet08 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod indexing...or lack of levi1922 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 8 03-11-2010 12:18 AM
USB port The_Stache Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 85 09-20-2009 02:44 PM
USB port intermittent... shall we compile a list of PDIM failures? JDBeck23 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 09-01-2009 02:57 AM
sorry to cross post but need someone who can get onto chevylaunch.com Adam Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 7 06-04-2009 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.