Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2010, 11:40 AM   #1
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
Shortcut for connecting to bluetooth? Faster bluetooth dialing?

First issue. To connect to my phone to play music, I have to hit source until aux input comes up, then hit that round knob button (all this can be done from steering wheel too I believe), then hit it for select device, then hit it again for the device I want to connect. It's like five button presses at the very least if I don't screw up and have to cycle through sources again.

Is there a way to make a shortcut directly to connecting to this device, maybe a press and hold, or anything?!

also, Going to try to get this fully functional with my phone. From what I understand, to use voice dialing you have to hit the phone button then say bluetooth, and then wait, and then tell it to call xxx. Is there a way to make bluetooth the default to take a step out of this?

Thanks for any help/answers.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:49 AM   #2
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,572
1. I found if I used the bluetooth menu on my phone and tell it to conect to the car it auto switches in the car, however probably takes just as long. No other way sorry.

2. If you program the phone numbers into the car's phonebook you can just hit the phone button and say ex: "Call Mom" and it will default to your bluetooth phone and call it. No other way.
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
I'm fairly certain that it will attempt to use my onstar phone (which I think expires soon but who knows if it will attempt that anyways afterwards) if I don't say bluetooth first. But oh well.

I don't want to remove my phone from it's holster. Just trying to make this convenient.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:26 PM   #4
ravensjeff
100% Chevy & Harley Man
 
ravensjeff's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS: Blown LSX 376-B15
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eldersburg,MD
Posts: 2,212
Your phone can only do 1 function at a time- either play music or as a phone. I didn't care to mess with switching back n forth, and didn't care for the music quality, so I went back to leaving 80GB iPod classic hooked up all the time in the glove compartment.

There are no shortcuts to select phone for music playing. You'll find it much easier to use ipod for music, and cell phone for hands free bluetooth talking.
__________________
LSX 376-B15, TVS2300 SC, Harland Sharp Rockers w/ Trunion Bearings, ATI Balancer/keyed, AR LT Headers/Borla Catback Exhaust, DSS 1400 HP Axles, DSS aluminum driveshaft, 3.70, Hotchkis Springs/Sway bars, Forgeline SO3P Aluminum Wheels (20x9.5 F/20x11 R)w/ Hidden Titanium Hardware, Nitto NT05 Tires (27540ZR20 F/31535ZR20 R), Billet LPE brake/gas pedals, Escort 9500ci Radar Detector Laser Jammer, Roto Fab CAI with Ice Silver box, Carbon fiber tube/MAF Housing Assy, LPE Aluminum coil covers, SS9 Sleeper Fiber Glass Hood (ACS), Carbotech 1521 ceramic brake pads, Elite catch can.
ravensjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:48 PM   #5
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
I already have a flash drive for static music. I use my phone for slacker internet radio.

So far I haven't needed to switch back and forth once the connection is going. I'm not sure if what you are saying is correct, I'll have to go test.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:25 PM   #6
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I'm fairly certain that it will attempt to use my onstar phone (which I think expires soon but who knows if it will attempt that anyways afterwards) if I don't say bluetooth first. But oh well.

I don't want to remove my phone from it's holster. Just trying to make this convenient.
Nope if you program the numbers into the car it will use the bluetooth phone first. I do it this way all the time. My phone's voice dialing won't work over bluetooth (motorola droid).
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:27 PM   #7
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravensjeff View Post
Your phone can only do 1 function at a time- either play music or as a phone. I didn't care to mess with switching back n forth, and didn't care for the music quality, so I went back to leaving 80GB iPod classic hooked up all the time in the glove compartment.

There are no shortcuts to select phone for music playing. You'll find it much easier to use ipod for music, and cell phone for hands free bluetooth talking.
The Motorola Droid (or any other Android based phone) can do both at the same time. The music pauses when you get or try to make a call and switches back when you're done. I do it with mine all the time.
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:57 PM   #8
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
Nope if you program the numbers into the car it will use the bluetooth phone first. I do it this way all the time. My phone's voice dialing won't work over bluetooth (motorola droid).
does it matter whether you use the voice program to store them or manual entry?
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 02:58 PM   #9
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
does it matter whether you use the voice program to store them or manual entry?
I used the voice program to store them, I never bothred with manual entry so I am not sure.
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:00 PM   #10
Dave2SSRS
 
Dave2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
Nope if you program the numbers into the car it will use the bluetooth phone first.

Correct!! I have done this as well... on both my iphone and droid. Both work GREAT in the car!
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Imperial Blue | Grey two-tone Interior | Silver racing stripes | Magnaflow Comp Cat-back | CAI intake | Elite Engineering Tunnel Brace |

Richmond (Houston), TX
Dave2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.