Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2018, 03:46 PM   #1
DustinB84
 
DustinB84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Tx
Posts: 50
MyLink question for guys who have installed it.

I have a guy who has a mylink for sale with Nav.

He said he couldn't get it to work in his 2012 Camaro.

I have a 2011 SS and was considering buying it.

Images can be found here https://imgur.com/a/rdFny
DustinB84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 04:19 PM   #2
Deputy347k9
 
Deputy347k9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Ashen Gray Convertible
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Havelock, NC
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinB84 View Post
I have a guy who has a mylink for sale with Nav.

He said he couldn't get it to work in his 2012 Camaro.

I have a 2011 SS and was considering buying it.

Images can be found here https://imgur.com/a/rdFny
During 2017 I did install MyLink Navigation into my 2014 that did come with MyLink but no navigation.

Before you waist a ton of money you may want to telephone Jarrod at GEN5 DIY who will not lead you astray.

I will post a picture of the read of the MyLink Navigation unit I installed in my 2014. The one you showing does not look like this! I believe the one you are looking at is NON NAV.

Besides they are not plug and play, they have to be matched to your vehicle VIN.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Deputy347k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 10:29 PM   #3
Abelardoo_12
 
Abelardoo_12's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 camaro ss convertible
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Houston, tx
Posts: 375
Im not sure if the one you’re showing has nav or not but either way you will not be able to make it work till you send it to gen5diy and get it programmed specifically for your car
Abelardoo_12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 10:04 AM   #4
DustinB84
 
DustinB84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Tx
Posts: 50
I think the guy who bought this system who is selling it for $400 didn't know about gen5diy.

I will call Jarrod.

I know it requires extra cables that he didn't purchase either, and I also doubt he knows that you have to have it programmed.

Thanks Guys
DustinB84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 03:58 PM   #5
Rainbow1616

 
Rainbow1616's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Inferno Orange Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,233
It will definitely work, I put one in my 2011. Its just a matter of how much it will cost you to make it work.
Rainbow1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 06:26 PM   #6
Pagliaro
RIP Betsy ( Vitara )
 
Pagliaro's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SGM 1LT/RS
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 812
Send a message via AIM to Pagliaro Send a message via MSN to Pagliaro Send a message via Yahoo to Pagliaro
I got mine from a salvage yard and it worked but I sent it out for programming as I knew this step. I believe I was the first to have a 2014 unit retrofitted ( text features ) in a 2011.
__________________

First retrofitted 2014 mylink.
Pagliaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 11:41 PM   #7
Cheap Guy
 
Cheap Guy's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 Camaro Z28
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainbow1616 View Post
It will definitely work, I put one in my 2011. Its just a matter of how much it will cost you to make it work.
Exactly! I really prefer stock head units but once the cost shot WAY above a grand I went the aftermarket route, which only cost around $700 with more features.
__________________
My Little Mid-Life Crisis Cure!

First - 1997 Camaro 3800 Y87, M5, Green - Long Gone | Second - 1997 LT1 Z28, M6, Silver - Sold | Third - 1999 LS1 Z28, M6, Pewter, Almost Stock!
New - 2011 Camaro SS, M6, black, stock
Cheap Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 05:17 AM   #8
camguynj


 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pagliaro View Post
I got mine from a salvage yard and it worked but I sent it out for programming as I knew this step. I believe I was the first to have a 2014 unit retrofitted ( text features ) in a 2011.
Do you know if the '13 Mylinks are capable of being reprogrammed to have the text feature or do they have physically different internals (ie.circuit board,etc) than the '14 ?
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 06:29 AM   #9
Pagliaro
RIP Betsy ( Vitara )
 
Pagliaro's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SGM 1LT/RS
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 812
Send a message via AIM to Pagliaro Send a message via MSN to Pagliaro Send a message via Yahoo to Pagliaro
Quote:
Originally Posted by camguynj View Post
Do you know if the '13 Mylinks are capable of being reprogrammed to have the text feature or do they have physically different internals (ie.circuit board,etc) than the '14 ?
To my knowledge '13 are physically different.
I actually took a risk buying my unit because at the time this hack was inly coming around and confirmed for '13 units.
__________________

First retrofitted 2014 mylink.
Pagliaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.