Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2016, 06:51 PM   #1
Trentin24
Trentin24
 
Trentin24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,379
Replacing all Speakers

I am currently in the process of replacing all of my speakers.
I purchased the Infinity Kappa 60.11CS 6.5" speakers for the fronts, and the Infinity Kappa 693.11i 6x9" for the rears. Being powered by an Alpine-PDX-V9 amplifier, and I have a Rockford Fosgate P3D2-10 subwoofer.

A year or so ago i purchased the FARK V3 harness from Sub Thump because i was just running a 2 channel amp for my sub. But now that I am going to be using all new speakers, will I be able to use the harness if I am running new wire to all of the speakers?

I am going to be starting this towards the end of this week if everything gets in the mail like it says it is supposed to and i will be posting pictures of everything and updating my progress!
Trentin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 07:36 PM   #2
flyer08
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,420
You,could use it if you wire everything up to the harness. I used factory wires which arnt the best but I was tired of messing with it
flyer08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 07:41 PM   #3
Trentin24
Trentin24
 
Trentin24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,379
So if I want to use the harness I can't run new wire?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Trentin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 07:58 PM   #4
tazman
 
tazman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 176
You can use the harness to supply the amp then run new wires from the amps to the speakers if that is what you want to do. I think it is difficult to get wires into the door so look at that before you decide you are going to run new speaker wires.
__________________
2014 ZL1 Roto-Fab intake, 2" TSP headers, JRE 125 package and tune.
2015 2LT RS overkill tune, 80MM throttle body with JacFab spacer, ported intake manifold and Roto-Fab cold air intake. Vitesse throttle controller.
tazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 10:11 PM   #5
Trentin24
Trentin24
 
Trentin24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazman View Post
You can use the harness to supply the amp then run new wires from the amps to the speakers if that is what you want to do. I think it is difficult to get wires into the door so look at that before you decide you are going to run new speaker wires.


I did it once in a previous camaro. It did suck but this time I'll have more patience and it's not my daily driver so I won't be stranded.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Trentin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 10:22 PM   #6
flyer08
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trentin24 View Post
So if I want to use the harness I can't run new wire?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I misread your original post...Below is correct, however running into the doors wasn't to bad for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazman View Post
You can use the harness to supply the amp then run new wires from the amps to the speakers if that is what you want to do. I think it is difficult to get wires into the door so look at that before you decide you are going to run new speaker wires.
flyer08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 02:05 AM   #7
CreeperRS

 
CreeperRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE NPP RECARO's
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,249
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trentin24 View Post
I did it once in a previous camaro. It did suck but this time I'll have more patience and it's not my daily driver so I won't be stranded.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Use the stock wiring, running new wires to every speaker is a pain! Stock wiring should suffice. You need an amp to power the 4ch and another amp or two to run your subwoofers. Use a 4ch amp that has Sub outputs. Or use something like AudioControl LC7i to create a true Sub output, that's what I would do. Also the rear speakers are a real PIA.
__________________
Z/28 CAI, BW PTB, ARH S, JBA HFC, EE CC, XPEL, 3M Ceramic tint 55%F, 5%R, BlackVue DC, Escort Passport.


Last edited by CreeperRS; 07-12-2016 at 11:20 AM.
CreeperRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 01:34 PM   #8
Roebel
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Perrysburg Ohio
Posts: 5
I just installed the Alpine PDX-V9 last weekend. I used the whole Fark kit with the X2 connecting the speaker wires. There is absolutely no reason to rewire the speakers, you won't gain anything just add a lot of work and time.
Roebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 12:36 AM   #9
CreeperRS

 
CreeperRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE NPP RECARO's
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roebel View Post
I just installed the Alpine PDX-V9 last weekend. I used the whole Fark kit with the X2 connecting the speaker wires. There is absolutely no reason to rewire the speakers, you won't gain anything just add a lot of work and time.
__________________
Z/28 CAI, BW PTB, ARH S, JBA HFC, EE CC, XPEL, 3M Ceramic tint 55%F, 5%R, BlackVue DC, Escort Passport.

CreeperRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 06:24 PM   #10
jshaf
Montani Semper Liberi
 
jshaf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black 2SS/RS w/ IOM stripes
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Masontown, WV
Posts: 4,823
I have upgraded both sound systems in both 5th gen camaros I have owned. didn't even bother with the rear deck speakers in either, too much hastle. sure the improvement will be better but cost to do so for the return just didn't make it worth while. concentrated on door components that were a much higher quality and would handle more power, fark kit, 4 channel amp that was almost double the stock power, mono amp and sub. went from 245 watts to just over 1000. pretty much clear at any volume and much louder when I want it to be.
__________________


Stainless Works 1 7/8 Long Tude Headers, Stainless Works High Flow Cats, Stainless Works Retro Chambered Catback, Z/28 Air Intake, RDP Tuned, FR41 Chrome Rims, 1100W stereo, 35% Tint
jshaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 06:29 PM   #11
jshaf
Montani Semper Liberi
 
jshaf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Black 2SS/RS w/ IOM stripes
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Masontown, WV
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roebel View Post
I just installed the Alpine PDX-V9 last weekend. I used the whole Fark kit with the X2 connecting the speaker wires. There is absolutely no reason to rewire the speakers, you won't gain anything just add a lot of work and time.
agree about the wiring, the wiring on the BA system was the one thing about the system they did right from the factory. will handle alot more power, no need to rewire
__________________


Stainless Works 1 7/8 Long Tude Headers, Stainless Works High Flow Cats, Stainless Works Retro Chambered Catback, Z/28 Air Intake, RDP Tuned, FR41 Chrome Rims, 1100W stereo, 35% Tint
jshaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 11:57 AM   #12
Rainbow1616

 
Rainbow1616's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Inferno Orange Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshaf View Post
I have upgraded both sound systems in both 5th gen camaros I have owned. didn't even bother with the rear deck speakers in either, too much hastle. sure the improvement will be better but cost to do so for the return just didn't make it worth while. concentrated on door components that were a much higher quality and would handle more power, fark kit, 4 channel amp that was almost double the stock power, mono amp and sub. went from 245 watts to just over 1000. pretty much clear at any volume and much louder when I want it to be.
So you just left your stock rear speakers in and powered them off the new amp or did you eliminate them?
Rainbow1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 03:15 PM   #13
Dizzy82


 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT SuperCharged
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 87114
Posts: 3,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainbow1616 View Post
So you just left your stock rear speakers in and powered them off the new amp or did you eliminate them?
If anything, most people eliminate/turn off the center dash speaker and leave the two rears alone.
__________________
Power is worthless without control. The 2nd protects the 1st.
BMR sub frame brace, BMR tunnel brace, LSR sways, LSR CM ca & tl, Sphon ExD el, GM tower brace, Megan coil overs, Goodridge Stainless Steel Braided brake lines, PowerStop D/S rotors & pads, Doug Thorty Ceramic Shorties, Magnaflow x-pipe, MRT V2.0, KICKER PowerStage sub & amp, Infinity speakers & tweeters, Dynamat, Viteese Throttle Controller, Viteese Paddle Shifters, ACS T2 Splitter, ACS T2 Ports/Quad LED lights, VDI kit, Havoc diffuser, IPF ECU/TRANS tuned, IPF/KPE Supercharged. 364RWHP/297RWTQ
Dizzy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 03:58 PM   #14
Snoman
H-Town Camaro Club
 
Snoman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Dusk Edition 2SS/M6/Sun/NPP
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,195
Hi Tentin, sorry--been afk.

Yea no, the 22awg oem lamp cord in your Camaro is not the same as aftermarket. Now, I'll give you the indisputable fact that most retail stores will attempt to sell you their version of snake oil, though please believe me when I say that there is nothing you can buy worth the money over Karma Wire. Cheap also, buy the 100' roll and be done with it.

Copper wire is copper wire is copper wire, we don't replace the OEM wire because it's copper. We primarily replace it because the 22awg is unable to properly handle the current load, with secondary benefits (albeit minor) of increased shielding, higher quality (content %) copper, lower amplifier strain, it's easy and it looks cool.

Minor issue with door, drill a hole below the grommet or run it through grommet with wire hanger.

http://imgur.com/a/kLIlP
Snoman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.