Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2018, 11:11 PM   #1
flynhawaiianss
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: IL, US
Posts: 44
New MAF question

Need a little help on this one because I'm not sure where to start. So about a week ago I installed a Cold Air Inductions CAI. During the installation I figured I would check the "code" on my stock MAF. For those that don't know what I'm talking about there is thread on "Strong MAF vs Weak MAF". My stock MAF had a code of "Q" on it. So using that thread, I purchased a new one off Amazon for barely over $38. The new one showed up with a "code" of "K15" so that link is still valid and does sell the "strong" MAF. Since installation I have notice that when cruising at times the car has small surges. Also, when taking off from a stop just normally and not hammering it, the car has a slight bit of hesitation/lag in throttle response. I'm almost positive that the car doesn't need a tune for the new "strong" MAF. I just had my tune upgraded for the CAI by DynoSteve. Not sure what to do from this point. Fuse pull? I don't think that would be the answer but I might be wrong. Maybe send off the throttle body to Bo White? I thought the new "strong" MAF was supposed to help but it seems like it has made throttle response and normal driving a bit worse? Everything seemed fine with the stock MAF Any help would be greatly appreciated.
flynhawaiianss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 08:37 AM   #2
frankwjr

 
frankwjr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS 2SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Smithsburg, Md.
Posts: 2,128
disconnect the battery...allow the computer to learn the new maf...if that don't work give Steve a holler...he will get you sorted...


peace.
__________________
2010 SS 2SS M6 - Tune by RDP dynoSteve!(Woot) - Daily Driver - 121K! - All work by me...
frankwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 08:58 AM   #3
ZEN357
 
ZEN357's Avatar
 
Drives: 1991 Z/28 Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wheeling, WV
Posts: 89
Check you throttle position sensor.
ZEN357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 10:15 AM   #4
Reichler
 
Reichler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS & 2005 GTO
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankwjr View Post
disconnect the battery...allow the computer to learn the new maf...if that don't work give Steve a holler...he will get you sorted...


peace.

A cars computer can't learn a new MAF; it needs to be calibrated via tuning software if the frequency output is different.
Reichler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 07:21 PM   #5
flynhawaiianss
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: IL, US
Posts: 44
Thanks guys I appreciate it. I sent off a message to DynoSteve to see if he thinks I need to update the tune again possibly. If all else fails I could try a battery disconnect or a fuse pull but I thought I remembered reading from an old thread that just replacing with the "strong" MAF that it wouldn't need a tune but we will see i guess. I don't think it is something I'm making up in my head because I don't remember the car acting like this before replacing the old MAF.
flynhawaiianss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 07:38 PM   #6
TheFlyingBananaSS

 
TheFlyingBananaSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,004
I have the strong maf in mine and a dynosteve tune but none of the issues you have.
__________________
TheFlyingBananaSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 09:13 PM   #7
flynhawaiianss
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: IL, US
Posts: 44
After talking to DynoSteve he suggests that I swap back to the old MAF. I guess I'm not out much money if I keep the new one as a spare or I can just return it. Just surprised me that after reading some of the older threads that so many people swapped to the "strong" MAF and had no issues. Then I did the swap and it seemed like the laggy throttle response was the biggest issue
flynhawaiianss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:33 PM   #8
Pro-tuned
Angewendet Ingenieur
 
Pro-tuned's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Camaro SS
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Things like this can happen when the MAF is installed backwards.
__________________
Pro-tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:39 PM   #9
flynhawaiianss
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: IL, US
Posts: 44
I'm almost positive I installed it with the arrow facing towards the throttle body and I thought it could only be installed one way due to the notch on the MAF?
flynhawaiianss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:58 PM   #10
Pro-tuned
Angewendet Ingenieur
 
Pro-tuned's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Camaro SS
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Iíve seen these installed backwards before itís just something that can cause such issues. Worth double checking.
Pro-tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 01:32 AM   #11
flynhawaiianss
 
Drives: 2011 Chevy Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: IL, US
Posts: 44
I will double check in the morning to make sure the arrow on the MAF is pointing towards the throttle body.
flynhawaiianss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 12:50 PM   #12
TRC-SS
700RWHP-650TQ
 
TRC-SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Forged LS3 Supercharged/Cammed
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shrewsbury Massachusetts
Posts: 5,259
I had the same exact issue. Purchase one off amazon and ran like crap. Put the old one back in and it was fine.

Ended up being a cheap chinese MAF. Ordered a strong one from a vendor here and worked much better.
__________________
View Build HERE>>>>>MY 2011 2SS/RS JOURNAL
TRC-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 11:07 PM   #13
Mr V
 
Mr V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 VR SS Vert
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 225
This has got me wondering now. I bought mine off amazon too. It was sold directly by amazon and it said it was oem ac-delco. I will have to take another look and see. Was there some way you could tell it was a china knock off? I don't have any surging but feel like I don't have the same power I did before.
Mr V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 11:33 PM   #14
Youngdeezy510
 
Youngdeezy510's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/ RS
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr V View Post
This has got me wondering now. I bought mine off amazon too. It was sold directly by amazon and it said it was oem ac-delco. I will have to take another look and see. Was there some way you could tell it was a china knock off? I don't have any surging but feel like I don't have the same power I did before.
I'm kinda in the same boat. Sometimes It feels less powerful than before or a lite surge from time to time. I'm wondering since the strong vs weak info is out to the public. Maybe these knockoffs caught on and putting out 2 digit maf's to make money

Its the first electrical unit I've bought for my car so in the future I'll just buy from a trusted vendor for that type of stuff. I'll take it as a learning experience....cheap lesson learned here.
__________________

____________________________________________
Youtube/Instagram: Mr2Hard2See
86 T-top Monte Carlo SS, 04 Avalanche
08 Equinox Sport, 11 Camaro 2SS/RS
Youngdeezy510 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.