Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDTW Custom Wheels & Tires
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2017, 08:52 PM   #1
WatchThis
 
WatchThis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Some Beach, Some Where
Posts: 176
HP Tuners Setup

So Iím looking at getting the basic version of HP Tuners to data log runs and send to my tuner for adjustments. Heíd make the adjustments and then send it back to me to load into the car. My question is more related to a laptop dedicated for this.

I have a small laptop I used for online classes but itís already running pretty slow. Donít think putting HP Tuners on it would help that at all. So Iíve been debating just picking up a cheap laptop off of local craigslist and dedicating it for that purpose but Iím not a computer savvy guy. Are there any minimum requirements you guys would recommend for a laptop to efficiently serve this purpose? Or am I making a mountain out of a molehill?
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS
2010 Jeep Wrangler
2014 Ducati 1199 Panigale S

WatchThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:00 PM   #2
SS Performance
 
Drives: 02 Camaro B4C
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Cape May County NJ
Posts: 254
You can get laptops super cheap these days. Just ship around and you should be able to find one pretty cheap. Check the big box stores and online places.

If all you plan on using it for is HP Tumers you don't need much.

FYI Summit charges over MSRP for HP Tuners.
__________________
A man's garage is his castle

1970 Camaro SS
2002 Camaro B4C
2015 Camaro 1SS 1LE
SS Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:23 PM   #3
xc_SS/RS


 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: somewhere in MD
Posts: 3,864
check this page out: https://www.hptuners.com/forum/showt...m-Requirements

you don't need much at all. It was designed to run on Windows XP so any computer for sale today should be able to run it with ease. Look at the chromebooks for inexpensive laptops.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS
vararam tune, ported TB, vr wedge, rod-mod intake, speed engineering LT's w/ cats, Corsa sport exhaust, ATI -10% pulley, MGW shifter, 160* t-stat, HP Tuners, some suspension work, stickers and a little weight loss. 12.72 @112.36 - improvements coming
xc_SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:27 PM   #4
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 1968 Camaro SS, 2000 MCSS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 1,298
I grabbed a cheap Lenovo T410 that was refurbed for $200 a couple of years ago. It's my tuning laptop, and it works great.

Any laptop you find on the market today should run it no problem.
__________________

2013 Camaro 1LS - Daily Driver
1968 Camaro SS - Show Car
2000 Monte Carlo SS - Paxton Novi Supercharged Project
2018 Regal TourX - Because we need at least ONE family car
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:15 PM   #5
WatchThis
 
WatchThis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Some Beach, Some Where
Posts: 176
Thanks for the help everyone. I donít plan on using it for anything other than HP Tuners, logging runs, sending them back and forth to my tuner for adjustments and loading them back into the car. Doesnít have to be anything special but didnít know how lowball basic I could go and it still do the job well.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS
2010 Jeep Wrangler
2014 Ducati 1199 Panigale S

WatchThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:34 PM   #6
RandRSS
 
RandRSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro Eforce SC
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 90
I bought a refurbished Dell off eBay, sent them a message about battery condition. They offered to install a brand new battery when purchased. Works great!
RandRSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 02:27 PM   #7
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
If you get the basic and not the pro, select a wideband sensor that uses a serial port. If not, you won't be able to send afr data to your tuner. It is a must for tuning
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 05:53 PM   #8
WatchThis
 
WatchThis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Some Beach, Some Where
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandRSS View Post
I bought a refurbished Dell off eBay, sent them a message about battery condition. They offered to install a brand new battery when purchased. Works great!
Sounds like a good deal, canít beat that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABADZL1 View Post
If you get the basic and not the pro, select a wideband sensor that uses a serial port. If not, you won't be able to send afr data to your tuner. It is a must for tuning
Thanks for the heads up. I donít know jack squat about computers or tuning so Iím just going to bring whatever laptop I end getting to the shop, let my tuner install HP Tuners, and set it all up with what parameters to monitor and all that good stuff. From how he explained it, all Iíll have to do is plug the laptop into the OBD port, hit the spacebar to start the log, press it again to stop and then send it to him to work it and send it back so I can load the tweaked one back into the car. I might be able to handle that
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS
2010 Jeep Wrangler
2014 Ducati 1199 Panigale S

WatchThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 06:30 PM   #9
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
Yes, but a wideband is a must. Unless he gives you one to use.
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 07:03 PM   #10
miller8907
 
miller8907's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 613
I would say if your going to spend the money, get the pro version. The ability to wire in your wideband for logging and to be able to log without a laptop, just with the interface is worth the extra money.
__________________
2014 1SS/RS LS3 AGP TT, Custom TSP Cam by Pat G, 4L80E Swap
Check out my build.
miller8907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 07:06 PM   #11
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller8907 View Post
I would say if your going to spend the money, get the pro version. The ability to wire in your wideband for logging and to be able to log without a laptop, just with the interface is worth the extra money.
Yeah. But there are some good serial widebands out that plug to the laptop instead of the interface, if he wants to save a few bucks. But yeah, I would do pro.
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 01:27 PM   #12
WatchThis
 
WatchThis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Some Beach, Some Where
Posts: 176
Hmmm, they never even mentioned a wideband I actually mentioned pro when they first brought up the idea of logging and sending them back and forth with the tuner but they told me that the basic would work just fine for what I need it to do. It would be nice to log without a laptop but Iíd still need a laptop to send and receive back and forth with tuner and load them into the car anyway right?

I feel quite dumb but this is completely uncharted territory for me.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS
2010 Jeep Wrangler
2014 Ducati 1199 Panigale S

WatchThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 01:57 PM   #13
ABADZL1
ZL1 Pilot
 
ABADZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TN
Posts: 1,581
If they want to tune your car without a wideband, run far away. The pro is nice, and many tuners use it. Anyone can tune your car remotely with it as long as you have it too
__________________

GP Tuning 2.5 Cam, Ported Blower, Kook's Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, ID850's, 9.17 Lower, 2.5 Upper, JMS BAP, Pedders Front Radius Arm Inserts, Whiteline Subframe Inserts, Tuned by me with HP Tuners
Idle Clip Link...........https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTL8S9eHwbs
ABADZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 03:04 PM   #14
DSX Tuning

 
Drives: 2018 Colorado ZR2/2019 Corvette ZR1
Join Date: May 2017
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 244
IMO, get the Pro and a quality wideband. By quality, I mean one made by ECM which is who makes everything for the OEMs and the EPA. The Ballenger AFR500 (which is just an AFX2 like I offer that is relabeled) is the best budget class wideband as long as you use the NTK sensor. I can help you out on a cable and wideband.

Run far far away if somebody wants to tune your car without a wideband.
__________________
St. Louis, MO
314-322-3283 --- dave@dsxtuning.com
Flex Fuel - Fuel Pumps - Harnesses - Tuning - R&D
DSX Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.