Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2017, 08:18 AM   #1
bcasurvey
 
bcasurvey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2ss rs a6
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: orlando
Posts: 127
OBDII-bluetooth dongle and torque app

i have a SLP supercharger on my car (2014 2SS L99) with a custom tune on it from FSP for about 3 years now with no issues.
i bought a OBDII-bluetooth dongle and using the TORQUE phone APP. and was playing around with it last night and my traction control lights up and my power steering quit working and it seemed to run a little stange. i need to check it again this morning but my BIG QUESTION IS- is it possible to mess up my custom tune with that TORQUE APP? and if so how can i check it to make sure i don't blow my car up???? thanks for any help....
__________________
12/2013=range mod, cai intake, kooks lt 1 7/8 w/ hf cats, borla s-type cat back,
stock no mods=1/4mi. 13.189, 106.628 mph
slp tvs2300
bcasurvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 03:00 PM   #2
bcasurvey
 
bcasurvey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2ss rs a6
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: orlando
Posts: 127
update-- my traction control reset itself and my power steering is working today but i have no way of knowing if i changed anything in my tune. is there a way to check my tune? i dont want to find out the hard way that something changed and blew up my motor. thx
__________________
12/2013=range mod, cai intake, kooks lt 1 7/8 w/ hf cats, borla s-type cat back,
stock no mods=1/4mi. 13.189, 106.628 mph
slp tvs2300
bcasurvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:11 PM   #3
seishuku
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 66
No way it could mess with ECU calibration, there are security checks that will prevent accidental changes.

It is possible that the adapter just overloaded the CANbus with data, causing the modules to lose communication and fault out.

A quick key off/on will usually clear any module comm faults (or just unplug the offending module, the ELM adapter in this case), worst case you have to disconnect the battery for a few minutes.

Better question is why the ELM OBD2 adapter is doing that, it shouldn't... Unless maybe there are too many parameters being requested by Torque, I don't know.
seishuku is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.