Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2018, 11:14 AM   #1
CGT
 
Drives: 2011 SSm6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 341
Head Studs

Question for anyone who has installed head studs on a LS3. I'm wondering what was involved, if they were able to be installed before the heads went on, fed through the heads etc? Getting ready to do mine. Thanks
CGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 01:36 AM   #2
2010_camaro

 
2010_camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 2,120
You can do one at a time. If that's what you're wondering.
__________________
MODS 6.0 forged iron block, Texas Speed Stage3 cam, custom twin turbo, Tripple 450 pumps, DW2200cc injectors, BMR Springs, sways, endlinks, bushings, tailing arm, toe links, DSS aluminum driveshaft, G-Force 1000hp axles, Brake master drilled rotors, ACT twin disk (1550ftlb), MGW shifter, Race Star wheels 17x4.5 with MT front runners 15x10 with Hoosiers, AEM gauges, G-Force II boost controller



https://www.instagram.com/whoopa_ss/
2010_camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 11:16 PM   #3
lionssfan
drive it like U stold it
 
lionssfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: mi
Posts: 911
Set the heads on then install the studs. If you engine in car.
__________________
TVS2300,BMR control arms,zl1 toe link,zl1 fuel pump, rotors two piece,Kooks LT headers,high flow cats,corsa exhaust,cradle mounts,Roto Fab air intake,livernois tune tune,washer bottle relocation,ram air,Hennessy wheels, morimoto fogs,DRL harness,coilovers,Installed heads up display,mgw shifter ,slps splitter,slp spoiler,zl1 side
skirts,painted strips,debadged,tinted
lionssfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 08:25 AM   #4
bct10985

 
Drives: 2010 2SS LS3, 2013 duramax
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dover, De
Posts: 1,370
Blow out the holes in the block with compressed air 1st.
__________________
ECS Ysi-B, FSP cam, Tsp 2" longtubes, Squash dual pumps, Id850s, Aem meth, Jakes stageIII 4L80e, FTI 3600, ZL1 3.73 diff, BMR suspension, 17" weld rts 4.5" M&H skinnies front, carlyle racing 15" conversion mt 325 et street R. 9.6@145mph
bct10985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:45 AM   #5
CGT
 
Drives: 2011 SSm6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 341
Thanks guys.
CGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:46 AM   #6
CGT
 
Drives: 2011 SSm6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010_camaro View Post
You can do one at a time. If that's what you're wondering.
I am kind of kicking that around.
CGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:39 AM   #7
Punisher_ATX
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Austin
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGT View Post
I am kind of kicking that around.
Thats what im doing. Seems okay lol
Punisher_ATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 11:08 AM   #8
lionssfan
drive it like U stold it
 
lionssfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss camaro
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: mi
Posts: 911
Clean holes

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGT View Post
Thanks guys.
You really need to clean the thread holes good. A thread chaser works good or take one of your old head bolts and cut two or three grooves the length wise down the bolt and wire wheel any burrs off. Use this down each hole as many times til there all clean. Use Brake wash and compressed air to clean them out. The idea is you dont want any debris to have any influence on your bolt torque. You tube it will be helpful too.
__________________
TVS2300,BMR control arms,zl1 toe link,zl1 fuel pump, rotors two piece,Kooks LT headers,high flow cats,corsa exhaust,cradle mounts,Roto Fab air intake,livernois tune tune,washer bottle relocation,ram air,Hennessy wheels, morimoto fogs,DRL harness,coilovers,Installed heads up display,mgw shifter ,slps splitter,slp spoiler,zl1 side
skirts,painted strips,debadged,tinted
lionssfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 08:55 PM   #9
13ashengrey
 
13ashengrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Ashen Grey
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Corydon, IN
Posts: 331
I did mine in the car. I put the studs in 1st then installed the heads. There is way more room than evryone says and yes it's 100% possible. There was no fighting around anything either. Make sure the holes are cleaned out as stated above.
__________________
13ashengrey is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.