Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection

Old 03-28-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
Bobtorious

Drives: 2010 2SS, 2014 Sierra Denali
Send a message via ICQ to Bobtorious
Question Unable to remove scratches

Hi,

I'm not a detailing expert by any means, but I've done multiple vehicles over the years. I'm having a problem removing random pattern scratches from my car.

I did the usual prep. when I brought it home a couple of years ago:
  1. 2 Bucket Wash
  2. Claybar
  3. Polished with Adam's SHR then FMP using the PC 7424

I still have what I would call random scratches all over, but most significantly on the hood and the rear quarter panels. They are hard to see unless the sun is shining off them directly and you look at the paint from the right angle. I think they might be from a rotary polishing gone bad (thanks dealership). They are so light that I have been unable to capture them in a photo; I've tried polishing them out several times with no success.

Has anyone else experienced this? If so, were you able to remedy it? I've only used the Porter Cable to tackle these, but I think it may be time to move up to a rotary polisher. I'm leary to move to a rotary though if it's not going to help me in this case.

Other information, I cannot catch these scratches. This makes me think these are below the clear, but I'm not sure that's even possible?
Bobtorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
CamaroDreams07

Drives: Slow V6
Is SHR the most aggressive polish you've used?
Old 03-28-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
Bobtorious

Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroDreams07 View Post
Is SHR the most aggressive polish you've used?
I've also tried Meguiar's Ultimate Compound. Not sure if that's more aggressive than SHR.
Old 03-28-2012, 04:19 PM   #4