Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance - Wash, Wax, Detailing, Exterior Repairs

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 09-30-2018, 02:32 PM   #1
Silverwing

Drives: Yellow 2018 SS
Can you clay a ceramic coated car?

I've been seeing a lot of mixed opinions about this. Some say no, you can't clay a ceramic coated car, it will just gouge the ceramic/paint.
And others say it will be fine.

From how I understand claying works there should be no issue claying a ceramic coated car but I'm no expert.

What's your guys opinion?
Silverwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:23 AM   #2
Gunkk
Thank you Al Oppenheiser!

Drives: Red Hot A10 ZL1 Convertible
The Museum Rule: The less you touch a thing, the longer it lasts.

Clay is abrasive. You're likely to do more harm than good.

I'm sure there will be plenty more opinions to the contrary, but if the ceramic has good hydrophobic properties and was properly applied to a well-corrected & polished car you shouldn't need to clay it ever (until you plan to remove/replace it), IMO.
Gunkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 08:52 AM   #3
SSport16

Drives: 2016 Garnet Red Camaro 2SS
I wouldn't...usually I clay before polishing, then apply my sealant. You normally shouldn't need to clay if it was done before the coating.

1100 Status - 7/24/15 (Ordered)
3800 Status - 10/13/15 (Built)
6000 Status - 12/22/15 (Delivered)
SSport16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 09:18 AM   #4
DaveC113

Drives: 2018 Camaro 1SS 1LE
If you need to clay a ceramic coating then you probably did it wrong. I'm not sure clay is going to remove ceramic coating, you probably need to machine polish and reapply the coating.
DaveC113 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 10:04 AM   #5
S2K+1LE
Account Suspended

Drives: 17 SS 1LE | 07 S2K