Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2018, 07:26 PM   #15
mpsgolf
 
mpsgolf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS Transformer
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: St Louis Missouri
Posts: 244
I recently put in a new battery thus resetting computer. Right after I went for emissions inspection and failed because computer said not ready. I was told I needed to complete
“Drive cycles” to reset computer. Below is what I did to reset the computer and it worked. I probably put less than 100 miles over a weekend but did try to follow the steps.


http://www.obdii.com/drivecycle.html
__________________
2012 Camaro SS Transformer
Mods: trunk subwoofer and amp, LED lighting (fogs, interior, trunk), skip shift eliminator, CAI cold air kit, Vmax ported throttle body, Stainless Works retro chambered cat back, JBA Cat4ward SS ceramic coated headers
Potential Next Mods: Tune, F&R sway bars, rear cradle bushing inserts and trailing arms
mpsgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 10:55 PM   #16
Blubird68
 
Drives: 1993 z28/2010 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas/Oshawa
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by 102SS View Post
When the car is tuned some tuners make the mistake of turning the monitors off.

This will cause you to fail the OBD2 plug in test.

The driving cycle to reset the computer for a 5th Gen is bizarre my friend sells used cars and he said you need so many miles at certain speeds.
Yeah I guess thatís the problem then, the sct tuner turns them off which causes it to be not ready, I guess I need to put my stock manifolds back on for smog which I was hoping I didnít have to, the sct tuner is kinda a waste of money
Blubird68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 04:43 PM   #17
102SS
waiting at the tree
 
102SS's Avatar
 
Drives: SIM 2010 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 1,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blubird68 View Post
Yeah I guess thatís the problem then, the sct tuner turns them off which causes it to be not ready, I guess I need to put my stock manifolds back on for smog which I was hoping I didnít have to, the sct tuner is kinda a waste of money

No you can leave your headers on.

Get your car tuned by a proffesional tuner.

My full bolt on 99 TA passed smog with a mail order tune from Frost.

I ran it on the tail pipe test just to see what it would do with no cats and she failed bad.

But the OBD2 plug in test was a breeze because he left the monitors enabled.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS A6 DD K/N CAI
60ft 2.03 13.08 at 107.82 (4/28)
102SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 02:34 AM   #18
Blubird68
 
Drives: 1993 z28/2010 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas/Oshawa
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by 102SS View Post
No you can leave your headers on.

Get your car tuned by a proffesional tuner.

My full bolt on 99 TA passed smog with a mail order tune from Frost.

I ran it on the tail pipe test just to see what it would do with no cats and she failed bad.

But the OBD2 plug in test was a breeze because he left the monitors enabled.
So i tried getting a tune in town by this performance shop, the guy wanted $750 so I guess I have to keep looking. Itís just rear o2 sensors Į\_(ツ)_/Į
Blubird68 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.