Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Old 03-06-2014, 03:10 PM   #1
Dr. Evil

Drives: 2013 SS
Autox and tire discussion

I'd like to get a thread going on tire selection, results, impressions and options for our cars.
With the rule change for 200treadwear tires this opens up possibilities. Disclaimer: had I known this rule change was coming I would have purchased a 1LE because I believe the car to have in FS will be a 1LE on a set of 19" CCWs(or other lightweight wheel) with a lot of rubber underneath.
I did a lot of autox years ago and HPDE. It was in a C4 vette so its not like I'm new to this. I just got tired of having to throw cubic dollars at Hoosier Autox tires to be competitive. Well, that, raising a family and being away in the military all the time. With the new rule it looks like you could run an entire season on one set of tires.

That said, many of us are working with stock size wheels. There are a few options available to us.
I know the NittoNT05 isn't the best but its better than the stock Pirellis, is cost effective and available in our sizes.

It looks like the BFG rival is available in 265/35/20 and 285/35/20 also. Not sure how well this will work on the 8" and 9" wide wheels we have though.

I'd love to have a set of the Dunlop Direzzas but they are not available in 20" sizes. They are however in 19" and this with a set of light wheels on a 1LE would be a killer setup.

I'm thinking that locally I may just throw on a set of the Nittos, get a proper alignment and see what happens. It's be interesting to see how much of an improvement they'd offer vs the stock Pirellis. I already have a benchmark as far as knowing where I am at.
Dr. Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:27 PM   #2
SPCBA

Drives: pleather and Chiclets