Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Regional Forums > USA - California


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2018, 02:02 PM   #1
dwake
 
Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange 2SS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 36
Can a tune disable my O2 sensor?

Hello,

I'm trying to get my 2010 SS smog checked and it has a CARB certfied MagnaCharger and a custom tune.

Everything passes but according to the report the "OBDII" result is "Not Ready". The local shop I'm working with says that my O2 sensor isn't working.

Question - Could the custom tune I had done disable that sensor? And if so, any clue to how to reset or reactivate it?

I'd go back and ask the shop that did the tune, but it isn't an option so hoping that some folks in this forum can help.

Thanks for looking,
Doug
dwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 02:04 PM   #2
carparts
 
carparts's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Z28 Black
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 25
yes a tuner can turn the o2 off but he should have told you he was doing this
do you still have cats ?
carparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 02:10 PM   #3
dwake
 
Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange 2SS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 36
Yes, stock cats are still there.
dwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 02:10 PM   #4
0-120
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro SS LS3
Join Date: May 2018
Location: GA
Posts: 70
You might be able to take donuts into a tuner/performance shop and have them spend 3mins with their computer to reenable it
__________________
416 RWHP, 422 RWTQ, Rotofab CAI, Dyno Tuned.
0-120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 02:13 PM   #5
dwake
 
Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange 2SS Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 36
Thanks, but if I redid the tune with the "stock" tune that came with my magna charger, my guess is that would reset/reactivate the O2 sensor. Correct?

Last edited by dwake; 11-19-2018 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Forgot to add a question.
dwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 05:07 PM   #6
ColdfuzionTN
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Greeneville, TN
Posts: 188
Was it tuned with Hptuners? Might get lucky and post it and someone edit it for you if your in a pinch. Just make sure to run a comparison to make sure what was changed between the two files.
ColdfuzionTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.