Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion

Old 11-26-2018, 06:09 PM   #1
Maroon 6.2L SS

Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Burnout (water pit)

Hi. I'm new to the water pit burnout. In the past did a drive around the water pit and then staged. This year I added drag radials. One thing that confused me was after watching multiple videos, some guys would back into the water pit and then roll forward a bit and then burnout. Other guys did a real quick turnover of the tires "in the water pit" and then would roll forward and do a burnout. Is there a "normal/expected" way of doing a burnout after wetting the tires?
Maroon 6.2L SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:07 PM   #2
crazydave

Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1 M6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maroon 6.2L SS View Post
Hi. I'm new to the water pit burnout. In the past did a drive around the water pit and then staged. This year I added drag radials. One thing that confused me was after watching multiple videos, some guys would back into the water pit and then roll forward a bit and then burnout. Other guys did a real quick turnover of the tires "in the water pit" and then would roll forward and do a burnout. Is there a "normal/expected" way of doing a burnout after wetting the tires?

Textbook answer is that you drive around the water box, back into it to wet the surface of the tire and then pull just slightly forward of the water to do your burnout.

However, most tracks i have been to on T&T nights throw so much water out there that it is impossible to drive around it and they force you to drive through it. If that's the case drive through the box and do your burnout right after the water.