Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Phastek Performance

Old 04-13-2017, 01:04 PM   #1
unavailablezl1

Drives: 2019 Silverado Z71 6.2L A10
DFW - Race tracks

I just got the ZL1 and have never tracked my past cars, but I think I am going to for this car. I am not a novice at driving, but have never tracked because I can't stand a helmet. So I am going to buck it up and try it.

I only die once, right.

Any suggestions on anything.

Looks like I need a Helment(don't know what to buy), suit, maybe good shoes.

I have looked at several tracks around. Eagles Canyon, Motorsport Ranch, just to name a couple.

Any tips from anyone before I take the plunge?

Past Rides
2017 M6 Camaro ZL1 Hyper Blue
2016 M6 GT350 White with blue strips
2014 M6 Mustang GT Premium Track Pack Ruby Red
2012 M6 M3 Melbourne Red Metallic
unavailablezl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 01:23 PM   #2
7stringtheory

Drives: 2017 Camaro 1SS 1LE
The Apex driving academy at Motorsports Ranch Cresson is really good. Instructors are great and they limit the number of drivers on track at once to 15 I think, which makes less traffic on course.
7stringtheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 01:37 PM   #3
TheMaGikDucK

Drives: 2016 1SS
You want a helmet that is SA rated (pref 2015). Dont let anyone tell you a motorcycle helmet is okay, its not and they're designed for a SINGLE different impact. If your just doing an HPDE you dont need a suit or gloves. Wear long pants and cotton tee (long or short, sometimes groups require long). You will get used to wearing a helmet, the same you got used to the ridiculously terrible visibility in the camaro.