Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Suspension / Brakes / Chassis (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Severe Oversteer (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=293018)

Ntmd8r 05-02-2013 02:54 PM

Severe Oversteer

2012 2SS RS L99 A6 FE4
Stock 20" wheels and P Zero tires.
5500 Miles
My daily driver.

My style of driving is called "Spirited".

I have been autocrossing for over 30 years
(with Corvettes, now with 2007 Corvette LS2 Z51, Pfadt Sway bars, Coil-overs, R888 Tires)

So I do know how a car should handle.

This Camaro is a "beast".

With my spirited driving style, whenever I want to take a corner with gusto
I really have to wait till the car is almost straight after the turn before giving it some gas, otherwise the rearend is coming around to kiss my frontend.

If I merely take a corner too fast, with no acceleration, the rearend starts to slide out, and I have to brake to get rear adhesion.

Usually north american cars have Understeer built in.
But this is severe oversteer.

How about it Suspension guys..... I can't adjust the rear bar on FE4 (I don't think), different bushings ?, alignment ? ...... or ??????

Thanks for any help

(Oh, I do plan to install Michelin PSS tires in a few months... these P Zeros are terrible)

Mikamaro 05-02-2013 03:07 PM

what tire pressure are you using?

jeremywes 05-02-2013 03:21 PM

Is it the same with and without TC on? L99 is an auto trans right? Is it down shifting hard?

SPCBA 05-02-2013 03:57 PM

your stock suspension and have oversteer? i am so confused. if your stock and have oversteer either somethings wrong or you cant drive.

Ntmd8r 05-02-2013 04:42 PM

Mikamaro... 36 lbs
jeremywes... sorry... haven't tried it with TC on.
It is not downshifting at all... just maintaining a good speed around corners.
SPCBA... thanks for your help