Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   How Bulletproof should the SS 6-Speed Drivetrain Be? (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18438)

M3 04-13-2009 12:38 PM

How Bulletproof should the SS 6-Speed Drivetrain Be?

I'm a noob, contemplating a Camaro. Have been looking at Challengers, and, I've heard good things about the Camaro SS, so, I'm checking it out.

I know about the Holden Platform that it's built on, and how well regarded it is. My question is regarding the entire Drivetrain. I'm not the type that wails on my Cars, but, I do put them thru the paces.

How tough is the 6-Speed, and the Independent Rear Axle, and all associated hardware? The Engine I'm assuming is pretty much bulletproof, what with Chevrolet's reputation for small block V8's.

What's routine maintinence on the 6-speed and the rear diff?

Thanks;

LJB

Douge 04-13-2009 12:49 PM

Not to be captain obvious but it is essentially the same drivetrain as the Corvette. They are pretty rugged as the Corvette guys hammer on them pretty hard. Chevy trucks with small blocks go and go and go so I assume if you wanted to 250K is a pretty reasonable mileage goal for a Camaro. That would be my expectation.

Mr. Wyndham 04-13-2009 12:49 PM

The powertrain is pretty much right out of the Corvette; engine and transmission both...And the rear-end has been said to be good to 650hp.

I think "bulletproof" would be an understatement. ;)

EDIT -- they did drive the test cars to 200,000+ miles...and they were still willing to go more. :chevy:

M3 04-13-2009 12:55 PM

What do you think Routine Maintinence on the 6-Speed Manual Trans & the Rear Diff is?

LJB

Douge 04-13-2009 01:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M3 (Post 402695)