Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Flowmaster Exhaust
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2012, 06:37 PM   #1
SGT Stretch
 
SGT Stretch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS/RS Camaro Silver Ice
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 490
car is sputtery whats going on?

Only mods I have is long tubes cat less and cut out the trash cans in the back. LS3 M6.
No tune yet.

I just drove to Michigan from Texas and she ran like a champ as always. The next day I get up and go for a ride and while revving up to shift at 3-4k like I always do it starts sputtering and feeling doggish andkeeps doing it through all gears. After about 5 minutes it catches you can feel her come back to life and all is well again. At one time the DIC threw a message saying service stability trac as well when it was doing that. All my plug wires are good and tight everything looks good under the hood. Its just weird. Almost feels like its getting more gas then it needs then adjusts and all is well. Its also not bad gas as I've put 3 tanks through it since it started at different locations.

Any help would be great.
__________________
SGT Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:08 PM   #2
GroundhogSS
 
GroundhogSS's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Envoy Denali, '06 G35 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 545
You might try some injector cleaner. You might have gotten some bad gas that clogged one or more of the injectors and is still causing a problem. I've had good luck with RxP in the red bottle. Good luck. Hope you get it fixed.
__________________
Richard
GroundhogSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:13 PM   #3
sykb47l
 
sykb47l's Avatar
 
Drives: 73' VW Bug
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 730
Check the power cable that goes into the fuse box. Make sure the nut is tight.
__________________
sykb47l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:41 PM   #4
jd10013


 
Drives: 2012 camaro
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: central VA
Posts: 2,877
plug wires? Don't tell me the V8 has that blast from the past too. I'm almost afraid to ask, but is there also a distributor?
jd10013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
SM0KE
IN THE CIRCLE
 
SM0KE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IN THE CIRCLE
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGT Stretch View Post
All my plug wires are good and tight everything looks good under the hood.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd10013 View Post
plug wires?
.
__________________
Increasing Circle Size is not important.
Worthiness will knock at the door on it's own accord


SM0KE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:32 PM   #6
hightower
LS3 Black Widow
 
hightower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th 2SS LS3 and 1968 Mustang
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison, GA
Posts: 4,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by SM0KE View Post
.
^this
__________________
hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:33 PM   #7
hightower
LS3 Black Widow
 
hightower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th 2SS LS3 and 1968 Mustang
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison, GA
Posts: 4,561
lol jk but the same thing happened to a friend of mine's truck, ended up being an injector problem if I remember correctly. Wish I could help more but that's all I know. :(
__________________
hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:36 PM   #8
SM0KE
IN THE CIRCLE
 
SM0KE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IN THE CIRCLE
Posts: 1,924
The point of my post was to show that not everyone is reading the original post before spitting out answers
__________________
Increasing Circle Size is not important.
Worthiness will knock at the door on it's own accord


SM0KE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:37 PM   #9
hightower
LS3 Black Widow
 
hightower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th 2SS LS3 and 1968 Mustang
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison, GA
Posts: 4,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by SM0KE View Post
The point of my post was to show that not everyone is reading the original post before spitting out answers
I know, haha people forget to read sometimes
__________________
hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:47 AM   #10
strych9
Gone Euro!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 6spd Manual Mercedes
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,031
Exhaust grounding out on a brace and causing the knock sensors to back off timing?
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:00 AM   #11
Neffarious
 
Neffarious's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS (2SS/RS, M6, IOM/Blk Rally)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGT Stretch View Post
Only mods I have is long tubes cat less and cut out the trash cans in the back. LS3 M6.
No tune yet.

I just drove to Michigan from Texas and she ran like a champ as always. The next day I get up and go for a ride and while revving up to shift at 3-4k like I always do it starts sputtering and feeling doggish andkeeps doing it through all gears. After about 5 minutes it catches you can feel her come back to life and all is well again. At one time the DIC threw a message saying service stability trac as well when it was doing that. All my plug wires are good and tight everything looks good under the hood. Its just weird. Almost feels like its getting more gas then it needs then adjusts and all is well. Its also not bad gas as I've put 3 tanks through it since it started at different locations.

Any help would be great.

All the guys throwing up "Plug wires?". Yeah, last week my car (LS3) was acting sluggish on acceleration and I was getting the service stabilitrac message. Pulled the code's and had a misfire in #5. Asked the C5 forum and someone had the same problem. Turns out #5 plug wire had popped off, I'm guessing to the hot and cold weather I have been having in the north west here.
__________________

In your next picture post, DIY guide, or advertisement thread take a moment and think of the color blind guy. Thanks.
Neffarious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:23 AM   #12
AieaboyHI
 
Drives: 2011 IBM 1LT RS
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 109
Your contact breakers might be pitted. I'd change them along with the cap and rotor.
AieaboyHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:27 AM   #13
bajamoon


 
bajamoon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Subaru WRX
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Whittier CA
Posts: 13,758
Pull the plug wires and check the boots. One of our local guys had burned through one of the boots and he was having the same problem. He had sputtering intermittently issues
bajamoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:32 AM   #14
5cents
Dave
 
5cents's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS - Black/CGM Stripes
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd10013 View Post
plug wires? Don't tell me the V8 has that blast from the past too. I'm almost afraid to ask, but is there also a distributor?
Attached Images
 
5cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:51 AM   #15
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,518
thats because it works. i do agree dohc v8 is more powerful tho... is that what youre getting at?
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:01 AM   #16
Can't_C_Me
Don't Sleep on My V6
 
Can't_C_Me's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT M6 TT/ NEW 2013 Malibu 1LT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oxford, GA
Posts: 3,559
I know I have a LLT but I had the same thing happen to me coming back from the Track about a week ago. I didn't run the car but on the way back it did the same and I got same error for the stability track. It did it again to me 2 days later twice and since I have a Trifecta tune I was able to catch the codes this time and know what they were. Here are some pictures. And the issue IS bad fuel. Because before it started happening me and my buddy in a SS stopped for me to get gas and SOON after that it started doing it. And didn't stop until that second day when I ran the fuel out and refilled.
Attached Images
     
__________________
Can't_C_Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:02 AM   #17
jd10013


 
Drives: 2012 camaro
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: central VA
Posts: 2,877
all I'm saying is that when I saw "plug wire" it kind of threw me. much like push rods I haven't had "plug wires" on a car since the early 80's. everything I've drive in the last 15 years has been coil on plug.
jd10013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:56 AM   #18
blackswan

 
blackswan's Avatar
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nearby
Posts: 1,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd10013 View Post
all I'm saying is that when I saw "plug wire" it kind of threw me. much like push rods I haven't had "plug wires" on a car since the early 80's. everything I've drive in the last 15 years has been coil on plug.
I did have the same reaction, wasn't aware that it uses a short wire fed by a coil pack. Interesting, and they are very large coil packs too!
blackswan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 03:03 PM   #19
Good2go
Team Chevrolet
 
Good2go's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z06 and 2011 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 433
Definitely sounds like fuel/injectors.
__________________
Forgeline GA3's 9.5/11 with NT-05 Nitto's, Pedders Sportsryder Supercar Coilovers, MGW Shifter, LPE GT1-1 Cam, AR 1 7/8" LT's, Halltech CAI, SW Retro Chambered Cat-Back, Installed and tuned by Corey @ Henderson Performance Technology.
Good2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:44 PM   #20
SGT Stretch
 
SGT Stretch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS/RS Camaro Silver Ice
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 490
Well I'm back on road to Texas now.. it was doing it on the way to the gas station to top off before the trip...ran some injector cleaner through it and didn't have any issues after that. But then again it only seems to do it when it sits for a while like more than an hour or two...just checked in to a hotel in Miami OK, so we will see what's up in the morning. I'm hoping its like you said and just some bad gas or was a clogged injector before i ran the cleaner.
__________________
SGT Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.