Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2013, 09:03 PM   #1
pdiddy
 
Drives: 2011 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 542
fuse pull/good with custom tune?? 2 questions

So my car has been dyno tuned and I was wondering after reading 15 pages on the fuse pull thread should I do this I have an LS3 is is tuned for 91 octane is what I am told. The tunner said he would rather me run 91 then take a chance with the 93 fuels around here that could be really old and no good. So since it was tuned is it necessary to do this mod/hack and will it hurt anything to do this(like lose my custom tune)? I have never ran anything other than 91 and I am wondering if I should try 93, will upping the octane hurt since I am tuned for 91?
__________________
2011 2SS JBA LONG TUBE, JBA HIGH FLOW CATS AND 3" EXHAUST, CAI CAI, 3.91 GEARS 18" cf5 NITTO NT555R, Bmr TRAILING ARMS, AND BUSHINGS, DYNO TUNED AT 408 RWHP/ ADDED A MAGGIE WITH 3.6 PULLEY ZL1 PUMP FIC 63# injectors ADM FPCM DYNO TUNED AT 570 RWHP AND 550 RWTQ ADDDED CUSTOM CAM FROM TICK AND OD COG WITH 3.8 FRONT MAKING 650RWHP AT 10psi
pdiddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:10 PM   #2
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,676
Yes it is still necessary, no it will not hurt your car.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:25 PM   #3
skar

 
skar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SSRS headers/CAI/tune/corsa,
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Commerce twp Michigan
Posts: 1,431
I was told with tune fuse pull not needed . Will not retard.
__________________
Stainless works headers/cats Roto fab CAI /
Corsa install and tune Livernois
TSW Nuburgring 9 &10" x 20 on Invos (315 & 275 )
JL Audio XD400/4 amp
Pfadt trailing arms & tie rods sway bars.
pedders street 1 package
skar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:36 PM   #4
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by skar View Post
I was told with tune fuse pull not needed . Will not retard.
Only way that's true is if your tuner copied the high octane table to the low one - in which case you better pray someone never puts low octane fuel in the car.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:38 PM   #5
pdiddy
 
Drives: 2011 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 542
by retard you mean running the 93 will not retard the timing. Or are you calling me a retard lol
__________________
2011 2SS JBA LONG TUBE, JBA HIGH FLOW CATS AND 3" EXHAUST, CAI CAI, 3.91 GEARS 18" cf5 NITTO NT555R, Bmr TRAILING ARMS, AND BUSHINGS, DYNO TUNED AT 408 RWHP/ ADDED A MAGGIE WITH 3.6 PULLEY ZL1 PUMP FIC 63# injectors ADM FPCM DYNO TUNED AT 570 RWHP AND 550 RWTQ ADDDED CUSTOM CAM FROM TICK AND OD COG WITH 3.8 FRONT MAKING 650RWHP AT 10psi
pdiddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:40 PM   #6
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddy View Post
by retard you mean running the 93 will not retard the timing. Or are you calling me a retard lol
He's saying that the car won't pull timing if you put 87 in it.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:42 PM   #7
litle88
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddy View Post
So my car has been dyno tuned and I was wondering after reading 15 pages on the fuse pull thread should I do this I have an LS3 is is tuned for 91 octane is what I am told. The tunner said he would rather me run 91 then take a chance with the 93 fuels around here that could be really old and no good. So since it was tuned is it necessary to do this mod/hack and will it hurt anything to do this(like lose my custom tune)? I have never ran anything other than 91 and I am wondering if I should try 93, will upping the octane hurt since I am tuned for 91?
Absolutely not! It's tuned? Pulling fuse will do nothing!
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:42 PM   #8
pdiddy
 
Drives: 2011 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 542
Stig thats why I was wondering when I had my gears put in I have a feeling the guy out a couple gallons of cheap fuel in it when he had the car. CARFX of Tulsa tunned it I am not sure how he did the table I can probably find out but still trying to decide if I should do the pull and start running 93
__________________
2011 2SS JBA LONG TUBE, JBA HIGH FLOW CATS AND 3" EXHAUST, CAI CAI, 3.91 GEARS 18" cf5 NITTO NT555R, Bmr TRAILING ARMS, AND BUSHINGS, DYNO TUNED AT 408 RWHP/ ADDED A MAGGIE WITH 3.6 PULLEY ZL1 PUMP FIC 63# injectors ADM FPCM DYNO TUNED AT 570 RWHP AND 550 RWTQ ADDDED CUSTOM CAM FROM TICK AND OD COG WITH 3.8 FRONT MAKING 650RWHP AT 10psi
pdiddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:55 PM   #9
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 4,238
Pulling fuses with a tune will still reset your long term fuel trims. It could be useful in certain circumstances, but not yours.
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:11 AM   #10
skar

 
skar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SSRS headers/CAI/tune/corsa,
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Commerce twp Michigan
Posts: 1,431
? On my Livernois did they use two tables high and low .
must find out.......Andy?
__________________
Stainless works headers/cats Roto fab CAI /
Corsa install and tune Livernois
TSW Nuburgring 9 &10" x 20 on Invos (315 & 275 )
JL Audio XD400/4 amp
Pfadt trailing arms & tie rods sway bars.
pedders street 1 package
skar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:50 AM   #11
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 700
Depends if your 2 tables are the same or not. My high octane table is tuned for 93 octane. Still have the low octane table, which it will revert to for bad or lower octane gas.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:51 AM   #12
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by skar View Post
? On my Livernois did they use two tables high and low .
must find out.......Andy?
Most reputable tuners won't copy the high octane table down to the low one as it can do serious engine damage if you put low octane fuel in the car.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:57 AM   #13
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,965
I have wondered this exact thing for a while now but never asked. Now I'm curious if it would matter with my JRE tune.
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:18 AM   #14
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis View Post
I have wondered this exact thing for a while now but never asked. Now I'm curious if it would matter with my JRE tune.
I was told by JRE that they do not mess with the low octane table. So 2 tables. Yours may be different though???????
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:36 AM   #15
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 531
Am I missing something??? he has a LS3, fuse pull is for L99. LS3 is disconnect battery, touch cables together and reconnect. Mine has been dyno tuned for almost four years now and as long as I have used 93, only had to do fuse pull once, for one hour.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:19 AM   #16
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1camaro70 View Post
Am I missing something??? he has a LS3, fuse pull is for L99. LS3 is disconnect battery, touch cables together and reconnect. Mine has been dyno tuned for almost four years now and as long as I have used 93, only had to do fuse pull once, for one hour.
The fuse pull works on both LS3 and L99.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:56 AM   #17
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,357
The high octane and low octane timing tables only have signifigant differences at wot. Your motor wouldn't self destruct with 87 in it if they were copied, knock retard will still pull a chunk of timing and you'll probably hear it ping. At that point, you will feel the loss of power from the timing pulled and you'll know you have bad gas. Just drive the car and put some good gas through it before beating on it again.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:09 AM   #18
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbubba View Post
I was told by JRE that they do not mess with the low octane table. So 2 tables. Yours may be different though???????
Well then in theory the fuse pull would still be something that should be done even with a JRE tune. Granted if you haven't put low octane fuel in it this whole thing is moot. Put good gas in and don't worry about be fuse pull. In theory that should be somehing that should only have to be done once.
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:43 AM   #19
f5journal
Senior Camaro Fanatic
 
f5journal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS/RS manual - White
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: aiken, sc
Posts: 2,026
I personally think the fuse pull affects more than the octane tables. Tuned or untuned there is still some sort of adaptive learning things going on in there that affect the way the car runs.

I have to fuse pull my LS3 and reflash my JRE tune to keep it right feeling. I spoke to Jannetty about it and that was the answer I got from him too.

So, even with a tune, the tune is getting overwritten here and there or some values are being stored elsewhere and utilized.
__________________
Former '68 and '69 Z/28 Owner...........Now sporting around in a 2011 RS/SS with........Kooks LT's and cats, JRE tune, CAI, scoop, ZL1 Bumper conversion, custom ZL-1 grille, halo harness, Painted silver stripes, GM GFX, black painted lower edge of skirts and rear bumper. MGW shifter
f5journal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:57 AM   #20
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 4,238
All the tune does is adjust your base map so that the trims don't have to work so hard to keep things in line. Your trims shouldn't need to be reset repeatedly. That could be an indication that your tune isn't quite spot on. The tune never gets overwritten by anything but your handheld.
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:43 AM   #21
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis View Post
Well then in theory the fuse pull would still be something that should be done even with a JRE tune. Granted if you haven't put low octane fuel in it this whole thing is moot. Put good gas in and don't worry about be fuse pull. In theory that should be somehing that should only have to be done once.
Yes. In theory.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:21 PM   #22
POS Dakota
 
POS Dakota's Avatar
 
Drives: GMs and Chryslers
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by skar View Post
? On my Livernois did they use two tables high and low .
must find out.......Andy?
Livernois wouldnt do anything irresponsible like that.
I'm tuned by them as well. I've never had any reason to try and pull the fuse.
POS Dakota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:10 PM   #23
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,965
Well I'm currently pulling mine according to the sticky. I just think it's weird that it would take hours for this to take effect.
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:14 PM   #24
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 4,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis View Post
Well I'm currently pulling mine according to the sticky. I just think it's weird that it would take hours for this to take effect.
It has a battery that you have to let deplete that holds up the volatile memory. If it didn't then your trims would reset every time you turned the car off unless they stored them in flash. They wouldn't want to do that because flash wears out after so many write cycles. Gotta let it run down like the BIOS in your computer.
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:28 PM   #25
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 24,689
I've never heard of a tuner that said run 91 instead of 93...
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.