Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 04-13-2018, 12:43 PM   #1
nbostaph

Drives: Yellow 2014 2SS Convertible
Is there any trick to getting an ODBII reader to connect to a Camaro?

I have a 2014 Camaro 2SS, and I believe an error code is preventing me from putting my convertible top down. So I purchased a Foxwell NT201 off of Ebay. I've never used one of these before, but figured I should be able to figure it out.

When the unit arrived I tried to connect it to my car, but it just kept cycling through the communication protocols and finally told me that my car is not responding. I tried the following to get it to work:
  • Plug it in with the car off
  • Plug it in with the key to acc
  • Plug it in with the key to on
  • Plug it in with the car running
  • Plug it in with the car off then turn the key to acc while it's trying to connect
  • Plug it in with the car off then turn the key to on while it's trying to connect
  • Tear 17% of my hair out
  • Plug it in 2+ minutes after turning the key to on

My assumption was that I got a bad unit, but then I tried plugging it into my partner's 2008 Chrysler 300 with the key off, then turned the key to on, and the thing connected up without a hitch. So there went that theory.

Is there anything special I need to do to get a Camaro communicating with an ODBII reader? Is the reader I'm using the wrong one (it listed support for Camaros but they could be mistaken)? Any suggestions on what to try next?

Thanks!
nbostaph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:04 PM   #2
14ssrs6man

Drives: Summit White 2014 2SS/RS 6spd
Interesting, should just plug in and turn key... I never had an issue... make sure it is plugged in all the way, those connections are tight on mine. Good Luck!
Old 04-13-2018, 01:14 PM   #3