Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   bolt on (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=139869)

paultheman2007 04-08-2011 03:16 PM

bolt on

Okay let me tell you this off the back im a dummy im new to this stuff now what is a bolt on where can i buy them and how much extra horses can i get

elcapitan1110 04-08-2011 03:21 PM

A bolt-on is a category of mods... it could apply to a number of things. What are you specifically looking to buy?

ron10 04-08-2011 03:30 PM

i would classify a bolt on as anything except tearing into the engine.

The Stig 04-08-2011 03:32 PM

I usually define it as anything I can just bolt on. Like exhaust, headers etc. Mot something where you're tearing apart the engine

daveagogo1 04-08-2011 04:57 PM

Bolt on HP and enhancements are Cold air intakes, Throttle bodies, manifolds, Exhaust. Things like that. Basically anything that does not require tearing into the motor.

With say a CAI, Long tube headers, exhaust, TB and a tune. You could easily gain 40-50RWHP But, as soon as you tune the car your powertrain warranty is almost certainly null and void. If you wish to keep the warranty stick with parts that won't require a tune such as most CAI's or axleback exhaust, even catbacks mostly.

Not asking questions if you do not know is dumb. So no you are not dumb just not savvy in this area. Good luck and happy modding.

Skidpuppy 04-08-2011 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paultheman2007 (Post 3071603)
Okay let me tell you this off the back im a dummy im new to this stuff now what is a bolt on where can i buy them and how much extra horses can i get

:bellyroll:

That, was funny.

paultheman2007 04-08-2011 11:14 PM