Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 03-19-2010, 10:20 PM   #1
jimmyh

Drives: 2011 1LT => 2010 2SS
I am new, had a CTS-V, looking at an SS

Hey fellas (and ladies), I am new to the Camaro world. I have been looking at them the past few weeks. I have liked what I have seen ever since I started reading about them a few years back. I have driven a V6 auto, and I was VERY impressed by the handling. I have read the V6 handling is a little bit sharper than the V8, but even if the SS is only 80% of the LT (and I am sure it is more than that) I would be happy. I havent driven the SS yet.

I had a 2005 CTS-V that I sold a while back. I have been kicking myself ever since I did. The CTS3.6 I have now just is not cutting it anymore. So while I might still get back into a V, I am leaning towards the Camaro. After driving sedans for most of the last 20 years, I think it might be time for a change.

Some questions for you folks:

1. I read where the 19" wheels from the LT will fit the SS. Can others confirm this? I will definitely need some snow tires for next winter.
  2. Anyone familiar with the CTS-V will understand this question--how is the differential? Noisy? Any chatter? Any wheel-hop?
  3. Has anyone put booster seats in the back seat? I have a 5 and 3 year old. They rarely need to ride in my car, but there are special occasions. It looks like it wouldnt be too bad, just wondering if anyone has experience.
  4. This is kind of a strange question--I kind of want the 2SS for the bluetooth and usb, but I am tired of leather. Anyone in Chicagoland willing to swap their cloth for my leather if that is what I get?