Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Old 12-19-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
Muscle Master
SS Lightning

Drives: An SRT8
I want to be an Automotive Engineer

I decided I wanted to be an automotive engineer and I figured how I'm going to do that but Im catching heat cause Im not going to college just yet

Lincoln tech has a 15 month associate degree program for an automotive tech- figured if im to be an engineer I got to know a car inside and out and I have some knowledge about engines but not alot so I figured I'll be a greass monkey for a bit

now during the 15 month program theres a chance that you can win a 5 month paid internship starting at $16-$18 an hour- something about being certified tech for Audi, Benz, BMW, Volvo, and Saab, and I think I will go for the BMW Program down south

Figured I'll be a certified tech at a BMW dealership for a while then get tuition reinbursment from BMW then go back to school for engineering

I'm catching heat from my mom and my Bitch of a sister about not going to college first my dad is for it

he told me that in the automotive industrie that its not all about education its about experiance , he gave me an example:

lets say my dad works for GM and was incharge of hiring engineers he said

He would rather hire a person with a degree and 2-4 years HANDS ON EXPERIANCE under his belt then rather hire some guy straight out of college

So my mom hates me right now, this is insane

Do anyone here think that this is a great path to my dream career

Quote:
The first rule of modding something that's not American is to not try to compete with modded V8 cars that are American. Really, they can run insane power with little investment. It's not even a fair fight.
Camaro 2SS RS, IBM, White Rally Stripes, custom fuel door: Status: going to the dealer: soon