Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2009, 11:58 PM   #1
jtnwevo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 53
Mounting Amp & Securing Sub box

Hi all,

I just purchased a full setup from ********.com that included a custom box for the 5th gen, 2 twelve inch subs, and an amp.

Does anyone have suggestions on where to mount the amp and how to secure the box to the car, so it does not slide around?

I will be documenting my install and posting it up here with lots of pics when I get it all done.

Thanks!

JT
jtnwevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:02 AM   #2
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS L99 & 2018 H-D FXBB
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,771
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
I would use velcro. It isn't permanent, but it secures the box for when you need to move it in the future. It also allows you to sell the car later or remove the box in case of an accident.
__________________
RDP Motorsport//GEN5DIY//Cultrag Performance//JPSS//Rodgets Chevrolet//
Operation Demon//Buy at Invoice//RACECARWEAR
RESPECT ALL CARS. LOVE YOUR OWN.
warn 145:158 ban
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 09:21 AM   #3
Steve@Subthump
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,096
Those questions are answered right on the website. There is even a picture on there that shows where you can mount the amp. You could also read the paragraphs underneath the photos for more detail...
The sides of the box are contoured to fit into the shoulders of the rear access. That way the box is held firm so it won't move around. Plus it doesn't take up much trunk space. As an added feature, you can mount your amp to the front of the box like we did, which makes for a really clean install. Speaker terminals are installed on the front so hooking up your speaker wires is very easy.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:43 AM   #4
jtnwevo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 53
Hi Steve,

I saw that information in the directions, I was just looking for other comments or suggestions.

I have not tried to fit the box in the trunk yet but are you saying that it is snug enough that it wont slide around when I take off aggressively and that I don't need to do anything else to help secure it to the car?

Thanks

-JT
jtnwevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 02:53 PM   #5
Steve@Subthump
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtnwevo View Post
Hi Steve,

I saw that information in the directions, I was just looking for other comments or suggestions.

I have not tried to fit the box in the trunk yet but are you saying that it is snug enough that it wont slide around when I take off aggressively and that I don't need to do anything else to help secure it to the car?

Thanks

-JT
Mine doesn't move. The purposely snug fit along with the weight of the subs in the box almost guarantees it won't move around. If you need specific install tips/hints, just pm me.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:21 PM   #6
Tecca
.
 
Tecca's Avatar
 
Drives: ...
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,380
I played my my box a bit this morning, once it is in place it isn't going to move, plus with all the wiring and weight of the subs this thing isn't budging Steve did a good job with this box.

Now only if my carbon items would come.
Tecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 07:49 PM   #7
Steve@Subthump
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teccboxx View Post
I played my my box a bit this morning, once it is in place it isn't going to move, plus with all the wiring and weight of the subs this thing isn't budging Steve did a good job with this box.

Now only if my carbon items would come.
And once your subs get broken in nicely, it's going to sound great
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 03:19 AM   #8
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,627
I thought my sub box wasn't going to move around.

One TURN later...yes, it was a fast turn, and that box came sliding out about 8 inches or so. Velcro did the trick for me. Oh...and mine is in the left side cubby...not up by the seat.
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 06:51 AM   #9
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,279
or small L brackets that you can screw it down with
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My JL 12" and JL 250 amp install VIDEO AND PIX! TAG UR IT Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 55 02-12-2011 02:03 AM
Stereo GUIDE ALL READ WildBeast15 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 29 09-11-2010 02:14 AM
Labor Cost for Custom Box? Travo Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 18 09-08-2009 03:15 PM
Adding an Amp to the BA system... ZZcamaro Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 1 07-09-2009 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.