Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Old 03-05-2015, 04:03 PM   #1
Saved by Grace

Drives: 2014 2SS RS 1LE
NPP "Rattle"

Hey guys, thought I would just share a little bit since I have lurked and learned so much on this forum.

Short story is recently bought a used 2014 1LE with 16,000 miles. I noticed recently that at low RPM I can hear a metallic rattle from the exhaust system. Very noticeable at a restaurant drive through because the sound would bounce off the wall.

Disclaimer - I'm no mechanic!

At first I thought it was maybe the butterfly valve. Like it was loose and rattling or something.

So I took it to the dealership for an oil change and told them what I was hearing. After checking it out that told me it was the baffle. I asked if they were going to do, if anything.

Answer? Entirely new exhaust system!

Should be here in about a week. Just thought I would share in case anybody else hears something similar.

-SBG
Saved by Grace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:10 PM   #2
mbowen89

Drives: 2015 CRT 2SS/RS 1LE
Wow, warranty fix then? Crazy
mbowen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:37 PM   #3
CamaroDreams76
Tri-County Camaro SWFL

Drives: 2013 IOM 2SS/RS/1LE
I didn't notice a rattle until I installed high flow cats. Doesn't really bother me. That's awesome you got it replaced under warranty though
Old 03-05-2015, 04:45 PM   #4
cornerspeed92

Drives: 2013 1SS 1LE
I never had a rattle, but after the High flow cat's were installed i noticed what looked like horse hair at the back of the exhaust. Apparently it is part of the sound dampening coming out.
Old 03-05-2015, 04:50 PM   #5
vinman
The BBOMG fill-in husband

Drives: 2015 2SS/RS 1LE AKA V1LE
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornerspeed92 View Post