Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 10-10-2019, 01:18 PM   #1
IlikeMyCamaro

Drives: 2010 2LT/RS
Paint Chip Correction

Hi all!

First real post after lurking for so long. I just wanted to share something I'm pretty happy with after reading so many threads and watching so many videos on how to do a touch up job. It isn't "perfect" by any means but I think it is wayyyy better than how it was before and I was extremely nervous because of all the caution and warning everyone said, especially with clearcoat (or lack thereof).

I have no clue how to format the post but the 4 images just show one of the 4 chips I fixed up (planning do to a few more now I have some experience) with the chip, then how it looked after filling it up several layers and letting it dry for a day. Then using 2000 grit sandpaper I carefully wet sanded (hole punch on pencil eraser) then I used Mezerna 400 to get rid of the stronger scuffing then Meguiars UP to finish up then I waxed over it for now.

Cheers.
Attached Images

IlikeMyCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 03:57 PM   #2
MattMDR

Drives: 2014 2LS RRM
WOW It looks great.
MattMDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 04:02 PM   #3
EJSS

Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99
Wow. Great job, I recently ordered paint and fine tip brushes and have been meaning to touch some spots up. I have actually seen videos of people using the hole punch / pencil eraser method but I never really considered doing it but looking at your results, I am definately going to do what you did.
EJSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:41 PM   #4
JLSuperfly

Drives: 2014 Red Hot LS3
Very well done.
JLSuperfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:57 PM   #5
Aqua Blue RS/SS

Drives: ABM #93