Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 11-08-2010, 02:44 PM   #1
TinyToasta

Drives: way too fast....
Question Stroking a LS3 - Some serious expertise needed...

As I am planning to putting on some decent hp gains whilst staying n/a, I did some of my homework on researching cams and header options. Good stuff out there, but....

...after that I started leaning into the option of stroking my LS3 to 427cid engine. No crate engines, just rotating assemblies and everything else needed to convert my engine.

Being a complete noob when it comes to stroking an engine I thought to put out another one of those "rare" stroker threads here.

Questions would be as following:
1.) What options are out there to change a LS3 to a 418 or preferrably to 427cid engine?
2.) What packages are out there (e.g. the TSP427LS3)?
3.) What kind of cams would be a suitable option for a stroked engine?
4.) What else is needed in terms of bolts, studs, gaskets, bearings, rods and all the other bits in pieces, to succesfully finish off the build?
5.) How many hours are we talking about having a pro shop performing the job?
6.) What kind of hp could be achieved, without taking all the options beyond dd-ability?
7.) What budget should be allocated to such a build?

especially on the budget point, I know it's not gonna be a "cheap" build, but still I'm trying to keep it at a reasonable level (similar to / below a SC build...)

Loads of questions, I'm afraid, but that's a complete novice reaching out to some of you guys having experience in such builds!

Thx a lot!
CTS-V Brake upgrade, Street: 22'' Vossen CV1, Strip: 18'' Forgestar F14 on MT Street Radials
TinyToasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 02:58 PM   #2
CamaroCowboy